Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending July 30, 2011

July 31, 2011

A very decent week of writing; I definitely can’t complain about these stats:

Story of G:

  • New Draft Wordcount: 0 words  (First draft was finished last week!)
  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 4,382 words

Grand Total: 4,382 words

The story this week was all “Book of M”.  And not a bad week.  I’m still in the background notes phase of the project.  As I’ve described before, this step, for me, is a pretty lengthy stage of the process, and there’s a lot that goes into it.  The vast majority of what I wrote makes up part of a narrative history of the world this story takes place in – all the wars and Empire and Kingdoms and great deeds and so on that make up everything that comes before.  You know, the part that makes it “epic”. 

What’s great is that the work I’ve done this week has really amped up the enthusiasm quotient a couple notches.  Not that I wasn’t enthusiastic about this story before.  But mostly, until now, I’ve had a basic framework of the plot in my head, and a handful of major characters with whom I was vaguely familiar.  But now, as I fill out its history, the world is coming alive for me.  It makes me excited to get through the history so I can start in on the story proper.

Of course, there are a couple other things I’ll need to do after finishing that history before starting the main part of the story – including finishing the character bios for all the major characters as well as setting down my outline for the book.  But working on the history gives me a feeling of momentum.  And that’s a good feeling.

Combine that with a much better-than-average week, wordcount-wise, and I’m feeling pretty good about this week past – and I’m looking forward to the week ahead.

So, how was your writing week?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Oscar Hokeah permalink
    July 31, 2011 8:55 pm

    I had a good writing week, mostly blogging. I sat in front of the computer with my writing once this week, and that is good for me. The blogging is helping get back into the groove of writing after a two year “break.”

    4,000 words is great. Good work!

    • August 1, 2011 9:38 am

      Yeah, that’s largely what I was doing with this blog when I started a year-and-a-half ago. I was in the middle of a 3-year grad school program (of a non-creative-writing sort) and I hadn’t done any serious writing for about two-ish years or maybe a little more. Starting the blog was a way for me to reconnect with my writing self – to write and to express myself. Now I’m finally back to doing what I really love best, and that’s writing creative fiction (and more especially speculative fiction). So good on you, and good luck with the new blogging venture. I hope it works out for you well, as it did for me!

  2. August 1, 2011 12:08 am

    As you know, Bob…hehe. I was on vacation, so I didn’t really get anything done, lol.

    Well, I take that back.

    I have been reading (studying, more like) this super interesting book called Operatives, Spies, and Saboteurs: The Unknown Story of World War II’s OSS. Quite fascinating, and I’m simply in awe by the amount of research that went into putting this book together. Lots of riveting first-hand accounts. (I haven’t read a book this interesting in ages, so I guess this says something about the fiction I’ve read in that time.)

    I’ll have to blog about this later.

    Also, today I did write some new stuff and edited old stuff (almost 900 words) to create a more elegant transition between chapters so…I guess I wasn’t completely unproductive this week, heh. (I must say, though, it was kind of nice not working on the story for that brief period of time.)

    • August 1, 2011 10:06 am

      Hey, yeah, sometimes you need a little time away – a little breathing room – to maintain the right amount of long-term energy and enthusiasm for a big writing project. If you try to go full-throttle all the time, you run the risk of burning out. So stepping away sometimes to read or write something different can be hugely important for the long-term viability of a bigger writing project. The “OSS” book sounds interesting. All I know of the OSS is that they provide a fun (and real-world) backdrop for a lot of crazy spec-fic takes on WWII (you know, the kind with zombies and flying saucers and alien technology and other crazy stuff).

  3. August 1, 2011 12:09 am

    Ahh you beat me in the word count dept this week 😉 I’ve been enjoying the summer and have been out more than home, so it’s not all bad. I did manage to finish up a couple of beta reads though! Did you get my email with my notes on The Story of G?

    • August 1, 2011 10:24 am

      Hey, not every week is this good, for me. I’m taking advantage of the freedom from Grad School. 🙂 I did get your e-mail on Story of G, thanks! I haven’t read through it all yet, because I was waiting for a little space and distance from the finishing of the draft before diving back into it. Plus, I wanted to have a few different feedback responses so I can read through several quickly and not couple my revision process too tightly with only one reader’s impressions of the story. So far, I’ve gotten back two responses; I’m hoping for at least one more response before diving through the comments and starting revisions.

      • August 2, 2011 1:38 pm

        Good idea! Yup I just wanted to make sure it hadn’t ended up in spam for who knows what reason 😉

      • August 2, 2011 1:41 pm

        You never really can tell, can you? The ways of Spam filters are mysterious and unfathomable.

Leave a Reply

