Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending February 2, 2013

February 4, 2013

Yes.  The fact that this is the first Writing Progress post of the New Year means roughly what you might think it means:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Story of V:

  • Wordcount: 436 words

Grand Total: 436 words

I haven’t updated you on my writing progress since mid-December, and since that time until this week I’d written exactly… nothing.

The long and short of it?  This means that until the very end of January, I hadn’t written a word since November of last year… I just went through a two-month long writing slump.  If you’re a writer, you can probably imagine how anxious I was feeling after two months without a word of new fiction written.

What happened?  The early part of December went down thanks to any number of little things here and there.  The latter half, on the other hand, was dominated by the Holidays (about which I’ve already spoken here).  After the Holidays came and passed, I might’ve expected that I’d be able to get back on the writing horse.  But… other things took precedence throughout the entire month of January.  The Casa Chez Watkins has been very busy, and there have been a lot of necessary things that have come up that needed to be taken care of.

Only toward the end of January did that flurry of activity begin to abate somewhat.

But, I expect in the next few months will bring a lot of busy times as well.  Hopefully not so much that I’ll go through an extended dry-spell like that again… but I expect that more often than not in the next several weeks I’ll fail to meet my new weekly writing goal for 2013.  I’m hoping, again, that things will settle down more and I’ll be able to meet or exceed that goal for most of the remainder of the year.

Well, that’s all the new I have that’s fit to print.  Tell me, then… how was your past week in writing – or your past month for that matter?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2013 12:50 pm

    It hasn’t been good, writing wise, for me either. I got knocked out with the flu, and spent a couple weeks obsessing over queries and synopsis writing. I’m not sure how to track beginning a new novel either. So far I’ve got nothing but a few swirling ideas in my head. Hopefully it will come together soon, because I’d like to start writing again!

    • February 5, 2013 8:46 am

      Yeah, I haven’t quite figured out a really good way of tracking productivity during the ideation phase of writing, yet. So far my method has been to write things down as I think of them (even when some ideas later get thrown out) and track the wordcount of that… but obviously that’s imperfect, as there’s not a one-for-one correlation (nor even is there a constant correlation) between the sort of wordcount used in writing down ideas and that used in writing an actual first draft. Anyway… queries and synopsis writing are important, too, for those writing at a pro-level. Not nearly like writing actual fiction, of course. Good luck with all of that!

  2. February 4, 2013 2:01 pm

    Oof, those writer slumps breed anxiety, alright. My December through most of January was conspicuously novel-free, also, and the stress was of the sort that I guess you’d have to be an artist to know. Fortunately, I was able to get the ball rolling again just before January’s end. Still waiting for momentum to pick up, but a start’s a start, and I’ll gladly take it.

    • February 5, 2013 8:47 am

      Yeah, momentum is something I do not yet have, either. Good luck getting that back and moving forward with more writing!

  3. February 6, 2013 8:09 am

    I’m sort of in “slow and steady” mode. Still on schedule with the mystery story rewrites (just posted the February one) and still fiddling with the two possible projects to come next. I’ve been toying with starting one of the new projects while the revisions are still going on, but I think that’s not workable.

Leave a Reply

