Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending December 15, 2012

December 19, 2012

No defense is the best offense? Or other somesuch words of unwisdom:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Story of V:

  • Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

As is also often the case, there’s not really a story or explanation for why I wasn’t able to write this week (or in other words… I have no defense; thus the lame joke with which the post began).

Lots of little things going on, none of which makes for much of a compelling story on its own but which, when taken in aggregate, meant that I had no real free time for writing last week.  The largest of the little things that added up was probably Holiday Preparations.

And I expect more such Holiday Preparations to consume the majority of my time this week as well, such that I won’t get much or any writing done before the actual Holidays themselves arrive.    But by then we’ll have out-of-town guests (thus the frantic nature of our preparations) so I don’t expect much writing time then, either.

Basically, I’m looking at the remainder of 2012 and I’m thinking that there won’t be much new wordcount coming out of me before the clock strikes Midnight and 2013 rises to begin its shift.

So, I’m getting close to the point where it’s time to post mortem 2012 and then to lay out goals for 2013.  Inasmuch as I am able to find blogging time in the next few weeks, you can expect both of those from me.

But enough about me.  Let’s talk about you.  How do you plan to spend what little remains of the year that was 2012?  Are there any Holiday festivities which you have already enjoyed or look forward to enjoying in the coming week?  Do you find the Holiday season impacts your writing productivity, and if so how?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2012 3:11 pm

    I started revisions yesterday on a novel that I was in the middle of writing this time last year. I hadn’t intended to begin the rewrite project yet, but since I’m sitting between NaNo and that “need a new story NOW!” itch, this seemed like a good time to get ‘er done. Having received some really valuable feedback on the book, I’ve been looking forward to/dreading seeing what I could do to implement the best of it. I hope to have the novel in tip-top querying shape by January. Could this be The One?! Only time will tell.

  2. December 20, 2012 11:41 am

    Once this week is done I will *crosses fingers* hopefully be done with edits. Next week (besides a ton of cooking and entertaining visitors) I think I’ll take a break and get to some of those books I’ve set aside until now.

    December’s always busy.

    • January 3, 2013 4:18 pm

      Isn’t it, though? (Busy, that is.) Well now it’s done and gone and we’ve a new year to look forward to.

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Progress: Week Ending February 2, 2013 « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

