Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending February 9, 2013

February 12, 2013

I didn’t reach my goal this week.  But despite that, it was a pretty darn good week:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Story of V:

  • Wordcount: 1,297 words

Grand Total: 1,297 words

First of all… nearly 1,300 words isn’t nothing.  It’s not my goal, but compared to my productivity lately, it’s a very respectable amount.  But, more importantly, what made last week a good week is what those 1,300-ish words represent.

For those of you who benefit from the live twitter feed (or who happened to glance to the right sidebar where my recent tweets are syndicated), you’ll know the additional significance of these words: they’re last words of this story.  As in, they include the two contiguous words “The End” followed by whitespace.  So “Story of V” is done.

Well… not really, of course.  The first draft of Story of V is done.  After that, there’s alpha readers and editing and beta readers and more editing and then proofreading and polishing and… whew… there’s a lot of work left to do.  Let’s not think about that right now, shall we?

So, “Story of V” – which in the real world, by-the-way, is Officially Untitled – is in cool-down mode right now, and for the next few weeks, at least.  Dear Wife has read it, but that’s it.  For the next few weeks I’m just going to let it sit.  Then, I’ll actively solicit feedback of an alpha-read nature from willing volunteers.  After another month or so I expect I’ll have some of that feedback in hand, and I can start doing some triage and develop a plan for what I need to do next to improve this story and make it the best it can be.  I figure that in another month I’ll have gotten enough space from the story that I can be objective about it.

As for now… well… as if I had free time.  If i did, I might be up for a little self-reward for my accomplishment (i.e. play some Zelda), but I don’t expect to have actual free time, like that.

Instead… my mind is already back churning away at “Book of M”.  I’ve been on hiatus from writing that for several months, now… and I’m ready to get back in the saddle.

Hi ho, Silver!

I’ve also figured out, as of yesterday, what the next three short stories I’m going to write will be.  They’re all “Book of M”-related story ideas.  It’s something I’ve been seeing some pro-authors do: writing short stories in the same world as a novel.  It serves multiple purposes – for pros, it serves to build interest for the novel, for example – but for me, the primary reason is that the story is large enough to contain ideas and viewpoints (and time periods) that won’t make it into the novel itself.  I still have to spend some time ruminating on these ideas to make sure I can flesh them out with full beginnings, middles, and ends, but I feel pretty good about them.

So tell me, how was your writing week?  Anything new or exciting?  Any progress on projects?  Anything you want to share?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2013 6:42 pm

    Hooray on drafts being done! That is always a relief, no matter how long the story.

  2. February 12, 2013 9:26 pm

    Huzzah for reaching a “The End”! I’ll be so glad when I get there on my current project; it has been a really unexpected chore, and I’ve got another idea forming that I’m excited to get to. New Project will be my reward for slogging my way through WIP.

    • February 20, 2013 3:11 pm

      Isn’t that a great way to reward yourself? You did something awesome, so now, as a reward, you get to do something else awesome! Win!

  3. February 15, 2013 3:23 am

    Congrats on finishing Story of V! Very exciting! And even if you didn’t have time for any Zelda, I hope you found a way to reward yourself for a job well done. 🙂

    My writing is going great guns at the moment, and I’m looking forward to writing my own The End when I finish the first draft of my novel. I’m thinking I’ll be done by about the 19th…

    • February 20, 2013 3:12 pm

      Awesome! Did you make it, or are you close?

      • February 20, 2013 4:25 pm

        Finished last night. All 89,000 words of it. 🙂

      • February 20, 2013 5:15 pm

        Awesome. Congratulations to you, too. Do you plan to get alpha or beta feedback? Plan to sit on it a while for some quiet time? What’s next?

      • February 20, 2013 9:50 pm

        Thanks. 🙂 Pretty excited right now.

        I’m going to take a few days, and then go through and make a few structural changes to it straight away. Since I didn’t plan anything before I started, I found the theme and many of the characters changed significantly by the time I got to about 40K words. I’m just going to change some of those story details in the first half. Then I’ll be handing it over to a few alpha readers for story and structure feedback.

        While that’s happening, I’m going to start writing my next novel.

  4. February 15, 2013 2:25 pm

    Congratulations. A complete first draft is a great thing. It’s like a good basic track when you’re recording a song. Lots more work to do, but there’s a foundation to build on (not an exact analogy, but it’s got some truth to it).

    As I described over on Theresa’s blog, I just figured out how I can cannibalize some parts from two different projects, and from my second novel, to come up with something which will be (I think) pretty good.

    • February 20, 2013 3:16 pm

      That’s a cool way too go about things. No good idea should go wasted… So if you’ve got one taking up space in a project that didn’t succeed, why not cannibalize it?

Leave a Reply

