Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending March 9, 2013

March 13, 2013

All things considered, I’m really happy with this week:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 1,024 words

Story of V:

  • Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 1,024 words

The circumstances that have limited my free time have not abated, but with a little help from Dear Wife, I was able to find a little time to squeeze out a little writing progress. A thousand words I’d no where near my weekly goal, but it’s substantially more than I’ve been able to do for most of this year. For that, I’m pretty happy.

Structurally, I’m passing through the first turning point, reaching the end of what I’ve been thinking of as the first of five acts. At about thirty-thousand words, that puts me roughly on track for my wordcount target for this book. Of course, that has several assumptions built into it. For instance, while I’ve plotted the book out, I haven’t really dug into my list of scenes to tease out what the structure actually looks like. The assumed five acts is based on a gut feeling. I’ve also assumed the first act would be the shortest; it has the fewest number of scenes.

Regardless, it’s nice to see that the novel is shaping up more or less how I expected, even if the pace of writing it is much slower than I’d like.

So my week was good. How was yours? Tell me about it in the comments.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2013 1:54 pm

    It is nice when things fall together the way we expect them to, isn’t it?
    Things have been hectic in the non writing world for me, too, but I’m adapting. As I talked about on my blog, I’m learning how to write on my phone. Because, unlike my computer, my phone goes where I go.
    And, as the saying goes, “wherever I go, there I am” — probably trying to write a paragraph or two.

    • March 22, 2013 9:31 am

      Yeah, it’s nice to have good portable tools, these days. As I mentioned in my comment on your blog, I don’t feel comfortable using my phone to draft fiction, but it’s been a great enabler for blogging even add my time has been further constricted.

  2. March 14, 2013 2:36 pm

    It’s a relief when you find you’re on target, like that. I always worry I won’t have enough story, or I’ll have too much, and go long. I suppose with time you get a feel for that though 🙂

    This was a great writing week. Been averaging about 1k a day, 5 days a week (sometimes less, sometimes more). It’s funny because I have very little idea where this story is going, but the writing’s going faster because I want to find out what’s next.

    PS To answer your question on the Clarion blog, my cheerleader is my best friend. She’s not objective enough to be a good beta read, because we know each other too well 🙂

    • March 22, 2013 9:34 am

      Yeah, I definitely think I’m getting a better feel for a story’s length, the more I write. I still tend to go longer than I expect, but I’m getting better at it.

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Progress: Week Ending March 16, 2013 | The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

