Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending March 16, 2013

March 18, 2013

Obviously, I’m less happy with this week than I am with the last:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Story of V:

  • Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

If I need to spell out why, I’ve not been doing a very good job at spelling out my writing-related goals for the year…

For those following along at home, I’ve now burned through 7 weeks of this year without writing, compared to only 4 weeks of the year spent writing.  I’d allotted myself 14 weeks this year for non-writing, anticipating that I’d need quite a few.  Yet, it’s clear that I was being… optimistic

Overall… I’ve written just north of 3,000 words so far this year.  That’s not a lot of writing, so far.  In fact, even if I take out the seven weeks I’ve spent not writing this year, I’m only at 43% of my goal for the year.  (I should’ve written around 7,000 words if I’d written 1,750 each week that I spent writing.)

From where I stand now, quite honestly, I don’t see a near-term end in sight for this drought from writing.  I know it will end, eventually, but I just can’t tell for certain when it will.  A few weeks?  A few months?  Will most of the year pass before I am once again able to find enough writing time to make some solid forward momentum?  Time will tell, I suppose.  There’s  your daily cliche for you.

So, how are you doing, this week?  If you write, did you get much writing done?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 4:37 pm

    Very little writing. Too much else going on. Very different stuff than yours (congratulations, by the way), but still distracting.

    The odd part is that when I do have a few moments, editing is going really well. So, that’s something.

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Progress: Week Ending March 23, 2013 | The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

