Skip to content

Tricksy Halfling!

April 21, 2011

I’m still working through my notes from JordanCon and writing up a post on what I learned there.  There’s a lot more to write up about it than I anticipated.  In the mean time, since I haven’t talked about B.T. lately, I thought I’d share this little tidbit.

So, B.T. is walking these days.  Sort of, at least.  He’s been doing it for a little while already.  He can take a few steps on his own – sometimes this happens when he’s not thinking about it but lately he’s actually been putting thought into the decision to go it alone.  But usually, he likes to hold mommy or daddy’s finger (especially daddy’s, it seems like – as Dear Wife says, he knows who the sucker is) while he goes on his little walking romps. 

He also eats these little puffs.  They’re his favorite food.  And we’ve been teaching him some simple signs to ask for what he wants.  One of those is the “food” sign, which is basically just pointing to the mouth – easy, right?  So he’s been picking up on these. 

This morning, as Dear Wife and I were getting ready for the day, we thought we’d keep him mollified by asking him if he wanted some puffs.  It’s easier to feed him puffs than to have him hang on our fingers and walk around the house (which is what he’d usually really like to do first thing in the morning; and also pretty much all of the rest of the time, too).  He responded to Dear Wife’s signs by signing that he wanted food then pointing to the puff, so she let him have the puff.  Success!

Then Dear Wife had to go do something else to get ready.  Daddy’s turn.  I ask him if he wants a puff, and sign “food”.  He signs food and points to the puff, so I lean down to let him take the puff and eat it.  But he had other plans!

Within seconds he’s grabbed my finger and pulled himself to standing, and in no time at all we’re walking around the kitchen.  I’d been fooled, pulled in my his ruse of wanting something to eat when what he really wanted was to walk.  And once B.T. gets walking, there’s no slowing him down.   Resigned to my fate, I walk around with him for a while, the task of packing my lunch abandoned, temporarily.

One would think that maybe it’s a little early to be worried about a tricky little toddler – that surely at this age he can’t be that devious.  I am here to tell you: do not be lulled into a false sense of security. They’re watching you.  They know where you live.  And when you least expect it, they will strike!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 10:09 am

    Young children can be wildly and surprisingly devious…

    • April 21, 2011 1:07 pm

      Surprisingly Devious Indeed. And In All Caps, No Less.

      • April 21, 2011 2:18 pm

        wow. i really love writing in all caps. i do. honestly.

      • April 21, 2011 2:25 pm

        LIAR!

      • April 21, 2011 2:26 pm

        ^ is not yelling.

      • April 21, 2011 3:24 pm

        Ha ha…I love wordplay…and I think English is especially equipped for it too!

        Is not yelling in capitals, the same as asking a question without a question mark. It’s the same as framing a statement as a question? (Although this last bit might be gramatically acceptable…)

      • April 21, 2011 3:32 pm

        Touche. You wouldn’t, by the way, happen to have six fingers?

      • April 21, 2011 4:31 pm

        ………uuuuh, (counting) no, I got eight, & two thumbs. Five & one thumb on each hand. Why?

      • April 21, 2011 4:42 pm

        I’m conflicted on what to say, now…

        Also, my joke really referenced a line on a comment you made down below, in a different thread…

      • April 21, 2011 8:14 pm

        Now I’m really confused.

        Now it’s really awkward up in here yo.

      • April 22, 2011 9:45 am

        I was hoping to find a video to link you. This will have to do. It’s a bit incomplete. This is better, but lacks the crucial question. Also this.

  2. April 21, 2011 12:27 pm

    Oooh tricksy indeed. Parents, so easy to manipulate. LOL

    • April 21, 2011 1:08 pm

      Our manipulability is inherrent in the nature of our relationship. As a parent, I just want what’s best for my child. I just want him to be happy. That’s the kind of desire that’s just so easy to twist. I guess B.T. already knows that…

  3. April 21, 2011 12:40 pm

    “…as Dear Wife says, he knows who the sucker is.”

    Spot ’em early, eh? Haha.

    How exciting that he’s walking! My friend has a little boy, as well, who just started to walk on his own. How exciting. 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 1:13 pm

      He’s a regular P.T. Barnum, that one. They say there’s one born every minute, but his one turned the tables pretty quick thereafter. Yes, the walking is very exciting. Dear Wife and I squeel with joy every time B.T. sets off on his own. He never makes it very far, but we do try to encourage him. We realize he’s likely only weeks away from full-on sprints through the house, unguided by parental hands. No amount of falling seems to slow this kid down (for some reason, Dear Wife and I can’t always catch him when he falls).

      • April 21, 2011 2:19 pm

        …would that make him a B. T. Barnum?

        Sorry. Someone had to say it.

      • April 21, 2011 2:25 pm

        No. He’s B.T. Watkins 😛

      • April 21, 2011 3:25 pm

        Ha ha, don’t know why, but that made me laugh out loud 😀

        (…BTW, have you ever thought about his initials?)

        I’m just full of literary swordplay today!!!

      • April 21, 2011 3:35 pm

        Actually… this is a bit of a downer on the joke, but B.T. aren’t even his real initials. It’s a code. Only Dear Wife and I know the code that gets back to his real initials, but then again Dear Wife and I also know his real name, so we wouldn’t really need the code. Basically, I figure, he’s a baby (well, toddler) and it isn’t really fair to him to splash him all over the internet without giving him the opportunity to choose anonymity for himself. So there’s a code-name instead.

      • April 21, 2011 4:34 pm

        Hey, don’t expect any complaints from my area of the world. I don’t even put a picture of myself up on the internet…so your reasoning behind your toddler protection is perfectly reasonable to me. Perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly, perfectly reasonable.

        Uh, did I say that enough times?…

      • April 21, 2011 4:39 pm

        You know, if you repeat a single word enough times in a row, you inevitably create word rivers?

      • April 21, 2011 4:34 pm

        Oh, and this is not related, but I feel like a conversation hijacker. 😀 he he… (embarrassed laugh…)

      • April 21, 2011 4:39 pm

        [Slow Clap]

      • April 21, 2011 8:12 pm

        Aaah, so THAT’S what they’re called!!! 😀 And I think I make comment rivers too. You know, a bunch of grav’s, and then the same two gravs for like a mile down the page…hope you don’t mind…cuz I appreciate the witty convo……………

      • April 22, 2011 8:50 am

        Actually they’re usually just called “rivers” but that’s a little unclear, so I added the word “word” to make it clear. Also, “word” is easier to use in this context than the more-accurate “white space”. I don’t mind the witty convo, though.

  4. April 21, 2011 7:30 pm

    Stephen, I highly recommend looking into borrowing or purchasing Signing Times videos for your little one. The communication will grow in leaps and bounds as we have witnessed with our wee one. 🙂

    • April 22, 2011 8:46 am

      We’ve been using several basic signs. It seems we kind of have to wait until he gets one before moving on to another. But it’s been great because the signs are a lot clearer than his attempts at words that don’t really sound like what he means.

Trackbacks

  1. The WordPress 2011 Year In Review Post « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

