Skip to content

Night of the Living Blog

April 14, 2015

It’s been quiet around here, hasn’t it?  Almost dead quiet.

Zombie Apocalypse by Pascal

Zombie Apocalypse?

 

Don’t worry, I’m fine.  I wasn’t eaten by zombies.

(All 1.7 of you who read my blog, and were worried that I hadn’t updated in months, can breathe a sigh of relief.  Oh, who’m I kidding?  I can read the stats; the only real traffic I’m getting is from mixed-up Google searches.)

I just haven’t had much time for blogging lately, between work and life, including my ongoing project to be a good husband and father, and a responsible home-owner.  I’ve also sort of rediscovered the time-sink that is television.  I still limit my TV watching, but there are a handful of shows I’m actually following. I have had writing time this year, but when that time has come along I’ve strongly, very strongly, preferred spending that time writing fiction over blogging. I’ve written better than twice us much fiction this year so far as I did last year at this time.  So that’s good.  All of the fiction for this year so far has been on my Book of M novel project.  I’m over 42,000 words total on the novel to date.  So I feel good about that.

I never got around to expounding on my goals for the year.  Just didn’t have time to go in depth on them.  Suffice to say, I have reading goals (which I’m not worried about beating, because I’ve done great in meeting my reading goals for the past several years), and I have writing goals.  If I meet my writing goals for the year, the novel will be brushing up against 60,000-ish words, unless I take time out for another short story or two.  Right now I’m focused on the novel.

If I’m able to, I’ll try to start dropping a line every week or two to share my recent wordcount.  I probably won’t have any commentary or anything interesting to say about it.  Just “hey, I wrote x words this week”.  If even more time allows, I have ambitions of writing a couple more thinky-interesting F&SF-topical pieces or somesuch this year, but those ambitions are moderated by a continued strong preference for fiction-writing over blogging.

See you around the blogosphere!


Image Source: “Zombie Apocalypse” by Pascal (CC0 Public Domain)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2015 10:36 am

    Just a quick word to say that I read your blog on my email – so normally don’t click – and that I always look forward to finding out how you’re doing with your word count and any other info you share with us. So please don’t stop! And if there’s time, keep up with the detail of how you manage your novel and story – I file it away in the hope that I’ll sometime go back to my own.

    • April 14, 2015 11:28 am

      I’m glad to hear it. 🙂 (I personally now read all my blogs on feedly, and I have no idea how that impacts the stats of those whose blogs I read.)

      But yes; it’s not been my intention to stop blogging entirely. It’s just, as I said, that I’ve been strongly prioritizing fiction-writing over blogging. I’ve now written 7,800 words so far this year. That’s not a lot in real terms over three-and-a-half months, but for me it’s been a big change in my productivity. In years prior (in 2013 and 2014), I’d go a month or more without writing a word of fiction. So far this year I haven’t been off writing for more than 2 weeks at a time.

      Writing-wise, that’s been my big goal for the year: consistency and frequency of writing prioritized over wordcount in a given writing session.

  2. Jill permalink
    April 14, 2015 1:56 pm

    Love to hear how your progress is going! I just managed to hit my first goal in my book. Maybe someday this darn thing will get published. HA!

    I look forward to hearing how other writer’s are doing. What type of goals they have set for themselves as writers. So even if it is to hear a word count or any other detail – I look forward to it!

    • April 16, 2015 11:33 am

      Congrats on hitting your first goal! And yeah, maybe someday it’ll get published. (Maybe someday even mine will get published, too…) We just got to stick with it for the long haul.

  3. April 14, 2015 5:30 pm

    TV is getting really good these days. File it under story craft? You might be done with book of m before I’m back to writing.

    • April 16, 2015 11:36 am

      You’re right, there are a surprising number of good and/or interesting shows on.

      I’m completely sure that every parent’s experience is different, but it took me the better part of two years after the birth of each child to fully recover enough free-time to start feeling productive with my writing again. This is not to say it’ll take you as long. Either way, though, good luck!

  4. Alex Hurst permalink
    April 15, 2015 8:19 am

    I only get an update when you post, but here I am. 🙂 Still following. Don’t force yourself to blog if you don’t have something to say. That’s okay. But also feel free to just ramble.. maybe dissect the shows you’re watching to see if you can figure out how they made the story the way they did… It might be helpful to others, and could increase your traffic. 🙂

    • April 16, 2015 11:38 am

      Yeah, I’d do something like that if I had enough time to blog. I even have a highly irregular “series” of posts on this blog where I do just that with stuff that I’ve read. But I’m reading faster than I can find the head-space to blog, and the things I was planning to dig into and explore are now 2-year-old ideas.

Leave a Reply

