Skip to content

A Mathematical Theorem

January 20, 2015
Math homework in place of writing...

Math homework in place of writing…

I’ve been writing off-and-on, recently.  Fiction writing, I mean, not so much blog-writing.  (Which is why updates here are still sparse.)

But the past few days, in the process of attempting to write, I think I’ve happened upon a fundamental mathematical property, quite by accident.

Which is:

Simulated (Fictional Account of) Airship Combat + Abundant Internet Resources on Related Subjects + Sufficiently Nerdy Author Who Once Had a Strong Head for Mathematics = Trigonometry

Seriously… I’ve spent at least as much time calculating angles (in a three-dimensional space, no less), relative velocities, and similar such mathematical minutiae associated with two entirely imaginary airships engaged in combat as I have in adding new wordcount to the fictional work in question.  And yet… despite that… my current productivity rate, in terms of fiction writing output, is at least as good as anything I did last year, on average.

Speaking of which… if I get a chance, I haven’t talked about my 2014-in-review or my 2015 goal posts as yet.  It’s not that I’m not interested in tackling those subjects… it’s just that, given a limited amount of time in which to write and given the choice between writing introspective blog-posts or writing new fiction (or, as it happens, doing some math in support of writing fiction), I’m likely to choose the latter at the moment.

As for the math? I consider that a form of research.  Crunch numbers to give me a reasonable sense of verisimilitude.

 


Image Source: “Who needs Pythagoras’ theorem? by Duncan Hull, CC-NC-SA

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex Hurst permalink
    January 26, 2015 8:59 am

    That’s awesome. It’d be cool to see some photos of those formulas. That’s some serious dedication!

    • January 26, 2015 9:39 am

      Maybe I should take a photo. Although now the numbers they give I recognize as incorrect. My starting assumption about a realistic grade for an airship to climb in gaining altitude was… unrealistic, I came to realize. (Full disclosure: I knew it was steep, which I justified because the airship in question was trying to climb in a hurry, but my initial calculations had the first airship climbing at a 45-degree angle.) I haven’t yet re-run the calculations for a more shallow and realistic grade of climb, but I figured I could reasonably compensate by reducing the air speed (so that their speed relative to the ground remained somewhat consistent).

Leave a Reply

