Skip to content

NoNoWriMo

November 12, 2013

It’s that time of year again.  We’re 12 days into the month of November, and authors and would-be writers all around the world are cracking their knuckles and flexing their story-muscles.

So far, I’m on track this year for a perfect NoNoWriMo.  That’s right: I’ve written 0 words of fiction so far this month, and if I keep up this pace of 0 words a day, I’ll be able to crack that 0 word total by the end of the month.

I’m being facetious, of course.  Can you tell?  In reality, if you were taking part in NaNoWriMo, you should find yourself somewhere around the 20,000 wordcount mark today.

Hey, I’ll level with you: if I had the opportunity to participate in NaNo, I would.  Heck, if I could find the time to put down five thousand words, much less fifty thousand, I’d take it.  I don’t really take pride in the fact that I’m not doing NaNo and that I’m not writing.  I take no pleasure in the fact that it has been 3 months since I’ve written a word of fiction (compounded with another 5 months of no writing before that solitary instance of activity).

But a blog where I complain about how little I’m writing is no fun to write, and an absolute killjoy to read.  So I make light, when I can.  Just one of the ways I put one foot in front of the other and keep moving forward without losing hope that, yes, one day I will be a writer.  I don’t even mean necessarily a published professional writer, though I hope one day to be that too, but a writer as in someone who writes.  Right now?  I can’t really claim even that designation.

But you know what designation I can claim? A dad.  And not a half-bad one at that.  Not always a good one, sure, but more good than bad.  And I’m a husband.  Maybe a middling one, but at least I make the effort.  And I’m a an employee.  I like to think I’m an asset to my company and that I bring a lot to the table.  Right now, this trifecta takes the overwhelming majority of my time.  Most of the remainder (not counting sleep, of course) goes to a fourth thing which I am: a responsible homeowner.  The long-running projects Dear Wife and I have been engaged in are currently languishing for lack of energy to complete them, but I’m well on my way down another, more time-sensitive home owner’s project that’s eating a lot of time: reclaiming my yard from the unruly wild.  (Okay, so, currently the moles are sort of winning.  But new grass is one its way, and I’m still looking for new options on how to deal with the subterranean varmints.)

That’s the forecast for November 2013.  But tell me, how’s your month going?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2013 8:07 am

    Busy, busy, busy!! 🙂

  2. November 12, 2013 9:09 pm

    My month’s going well, thank you. (: It’s the first time I’ve worked on a new novel in a while, so it feels good to be back in that zone — as I’ve no doubt you’ll know firsthand when your return to a writer’s life comes. Hope you’re finding plenty of enjoyment in the life you’ve got in the meantime!

    • November 13, 2013 12:02 pm

      There’s plenty to enjoy but I still wish I could get a consistent full night’s sleep. For most of this year so far a full night’s sleep has been the rare exception…

      And yeah, I’ve been out of writing for a while and it always felt good to get back to it in the past. Good luck with new projects!

  3. November 12, 2013 11:44 pm

    Once again this year I’m maintaining my streak of never doing NaNo (or any other similar challenge). I wonder if there’s an award for that.

    I am managing to write, I guess because I’m neither a husband nor a homeowner. Not a dad either, but there are times in life when being a son can be time-consuming, too. But I do manage to squeeze in a few words here and there.

    • November 13, 2013 12:04 pm

      Glad you’re able to find time to write. I mostly squandered the days when I was single and a renter. I’ll wager I could’ve written two or three books at least by this time in my life if I’d just made a habit of regular writing back when it was comparatively easy to make that happen…

Leave a Reply

