Skip to content

“If…” or “To Sleep, perchance to Dream…”

October 15, 2013

If I had enough free-time to write something – a blog post, something in my novel WIP, short story revisions, B.T.’s story, really anything – in all honesty, I’d probably spend it sleeping instead.

Incidentally, and I’m sure not at all related: you’ve heard, dear reader of the “terrible twos”? In my experience, the twos weren’t so terrible.  The threes on the other hand… a different story.  There’s all sorts of boundary-pushing and limit-testing and identity-asserting with an extra dose of want vs. need confusion.  All very normal, I’m lead to believe, but no less difficult to pass through for it.

To misquote the Bard:

To Sleep, perchance to Dream; Aye, there’s the rub.

For in that sleep of peaceful actual being asleepness and nobody waking you up in the middle of the night, what dreams may come…

No I’m not dead, though it’s been over a month since I updated the blog.  But I wish I was sleeping right now.  And according to good ol’ Bill that’s kind of like being dead.

Leave a Reply

