Skip to content

Non-Writing Update: Weeks Ending June 1, 2013

June 4, 2013

My non-writing updates are getting sparser and sparser, aren’t they?  I keep on not writing.  I expect to have an update on my annual reading and writing goals hopefully… eventuallyish.

I really don’t have a lot to say.  But I will say this: the whole “infant who doesn’t sleep a full night” thing?  I’m so done with it.

I’ve been shambling through my days on zombie-mode for so long, I think I’ve started to forget what life among the living was like.  Dear Wife and I keep trying to encourage each other: “He’s got to start sleeping sometime, doesn’t he?”  The words sound empty and hollow.  Probably because the lack of consistent sleep has left us both empty and hollow.

Such as it is, free time that isn’t spent trying to get to bed early is in very short supply.  And when we have it, do you know what we most often choose to use it on?

Home projects.

Yep.  Those continue apace.  Both the pantry-to-be and the office/craft-room-to-be have been painted, at least.  Not a whole lot else has been done in either place.

So, yeah: I’d apologize for the radio silence these past several weeks… but I’m too tired to apologize.

That’s where we stand, now.  If this message makes it out to the wider world, I have but one request:

Please Send Sleep Pills.  Stat.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2013 12:43 pm

    After a week of spotty sleep on my end, I can easily empathize.
    Empty and hollow though words of encouragement may be, hold fast to their truth. Someday… some glorious, slumber-filled night… this chapter of exhaustion will end.
    ‘Til then, go pass out when you can.

    • June 14, 2013 9:28 am

      I just keep telling myself that… but right now I honestly expect that they bad sleep will continue for another 3-4 months…

  2. June 4, 2013 4:47 pm

    I hope you manage to get some more rest soon 😦

  3. June 5, 2013 1:27 am

    I can’t send you sleep pills, but I can send you good vibes. I guess now is not a good time to talk about how well my baby is sleeping. Five hours at a time! Here’s hoping your little one starts to sleep more consecutive hours at a time.

    • June 14, 2013 9:29 am

      Hey, I don’t begrudge you the successful sleep you’re getting with your baby. Envy it perhaps just a little. But I definitely don’t begrudge it.

  4. June 5, 2013 6:56 am

    It does get better. Eventually, he’ll go off to college.

    (Hang in there. Parenthood is the toughest gig there is.)

Leave a Reply

