Non-Writing Update: Week Ending April 6, 2013

Let’s see… how did this week go?

More work at the dayjob.  Busy, that was.  Good busy, you know, but busy.

More home-life of the neo-parental kind on the home-front, combined with home-life of the rambunctious toddler parent kind as well.

The highlights of the week included planting flowers in the front garden.  Plus, I committed a deliberate act of Barbecue!  (Actually, that’s the second time this year I’ve barbecued… we had a beautiful run of warm weather back in late-February/early-March.)  I concocted some sort of non-duplicable dry rub from various seasonings in our spice drawer for some chicken kabobs, and it was quite delicious.

Of writing or time therefore there was narry a peep.  I mollified myself be engaging in a nice bit of readage.  I got through a good chunk of the book I’m currently reading (A Memory of Light, by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson, if you’re curious).  It turns out: it’s hard to write when you’re feeding a baby, but relatively easy to read. 

That’s life down at the Casa Chez Watkins.  How are things in your neck-of-the-woods?

6 thoughts on “Non-Writing Update: Week Ending April 6, 2013

  1. Chez Bazelli, it’s been crazy busy at the dayjob (long hours and deadlines). I’ve been going nonstop, and I haven’t had the mental energy to focus on writing words. But I have been brainstorming plot scenes on index cards and figured out a few plot tangles, which was a relief.

    I wish we could grow some flowers! Everything we plant seems to get eaten by critters before we get to them…

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who sometimes can’t write because the day-job is too demanding. That’s life, sure, but it’s comforting to hear others struggle with it, too. As for flowers… Neither dear wife not I are possessed of particularly green thumbs. Gardening is nice, but once something is in the ground I don’t know how to take care of it. We’ll see how these flowers do. One of their selling points was that they’re low maintenance.

  2. Been editing up a storm in prep for my publication bonanza. Mostly to do with culling repetitious words. A tiring, tricky enterprise, sometimes, but I don’t mind it too horribly. I’m all for tiny changes adding up to a better book. (:

    Spring was here today. Pouring rain, early this morning, but goodness, did the sky and lake ever look gorgeous when the weather halfheartedly cleared up! Might have made a fine afternoon for a barbecue, but you and your kabobs weren’t here, so we made do without.

  3. This has been an okay week for me. Still in a holding pattern on some personal stuff, but nearly done with mystery story rewrites. I’m on the last one, and I think it’s nearly there. I’m going to stick it in the metaphorical drawer for a couple of weeks and then go over it for one more time before the end of the month.

    Had a (very small) scare today when I couldn’t find part of the new story I’m working on but it turned out to be just well hidden (nothing is more confusing than when I put things where they’re supposed to be 🙂 ).

Leave a comment