Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending December 8, 2012

December 10, 2012

I’ll save the pithy commentary for the body of this week’s update:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Story of V:

  • Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

As is often the case, there’s a story behind my not having done any writing last week.

This time, it’s because I was playing at being a Single Parent.  Dear Wife had a work trip for which she was gone for a few days, during which time I was B.T.’s sole care-taker. 

You could say, then, that I have a newfound respect for the trials and travails of actual single parents, and my pre-existing respect for Dear Wife and all that she does in our home for our family has deepened. 

At the end of the first day as a Single Dad I was tired.  Too tired to write, but with just enough energy to find less mentally-taxing ways of entertaining myself.  So I played a little Zelda, which I haven’t done in quite some time.  By the end of the second day, I was exhausted.  After I finished all the regular chores that need to be done each evening – dishes, preparing lunches for the next day, and so on – I was too tired even to try my hand at a video game.  I retired to bed at my earliest opportunity.

I went through third day in full Night-of-the-Living-Dead mode: mostly a mindless, shambling zombie-like entity that survived mostly by acting out of rote memory.  By the afternoon of the third day I was so close to the cusp of shutting down completely that I actually resorted to “self-medicating” by going to the office vending-machine and purchasing a caffeine-laced soda.  (I don’t drink coffee, so an afternoon cup o’ joe was not a real option.)

Thankfully Dear Wife returned toward the end of the third day, so I was able to get to bed somewhat early-ish.  But it took several days for me to recouperate fully.

This week is looking likely to be busy in other ways.  At least Dear Wife doesn’t have any more work trips planned for the immediate future.  Hopefully I’ll be able to find time to wrap up “The Story of V” and get to “The End”.

How about you all?  How was your week?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2012 8:53 pm

    Not much news on my end. Still writing the odd scene here and there, seeing how they fit together.

    And preparing something pretty exciting which will appear around the first of next year.

    No details on that will be announced in advance. 🙂

    • December 20, 2012 8:38 am

      That’s a pretty interesting post. I haven’t read all of it, but what I’ve read so far was definitely an interesting perspective.

  2. December 17, 2012 11:29 am

    I have only one thing to say.

    Bwah ha ha ha ha ha ha!

    I’m always amused and quietly (or not so quietly) pleased when I leave my husband alone with our children for a day and get home to have him say, “I just want you to know that I really appreciate everything you do around here, and how hard you work. I need a nap.”

    • December 20, 2012 8:53 am

      In my defense, I make a big effort to be there every day for my wife and child. Since I’ve been out of grad school, I don’t think I’ve left my wife and son alone for too long. I believe Dear Wife definitely bears more of the burden of child-care, but she doesn’t bear it alone.

      • December 20, 2012 9:07 am

        Certainly wasn’t suggesting otherwise. Just generally being amused. 🙂

      • December 20, 2012 9:09 am

        I know you didn’t mean anything by it. I think it’s more common these days for Dads to be more involved than perhaps they were in the past. But I’m still pretty self-conscious about trying to be a good Dad… and all too aware of my failings and imperfections in that regard.

Trackbacks

  1. The Next Big Thing Tagging Game | The Happy Logophile
  2. Writing Progress: Week Ending December 15, 2012 « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

