Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending October 27, 2012

October 29, 2012

Look, I can explain this:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Super Secret Project:

  • Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

Yeah, I wrote nothing.  Zero.  Nada.  Bupkiss.  But I can, in fact, explain.  Remember the “super-extra double-secret” project from last week?  Well, just re-read last week’s writing update and you’ll know what I’ve been doing all week.

Literally, every single free moment this past week was devoted completely to fashioning an airplane for B.T.’s Halloween.

And, if real-life were a video game, I would (to borrow a running gag from Pat Rothfuss’s blog) be able to say the following:

Achievement Unlocked:

Fashioned Halloween Costume By Hand, From Scratch, For My Kid

That’s right, the airplane itself is done.  To be fair, that wasn’t the whole of B.T.’s costume.  Since he can’t reasonably wear the airplane itself all the time, there’s a secondary element to his costume: the pilot’s uniform.  And that area wasn’t my domain, but instead Dear Wife’s.  She fashioned a cute-as-a-button U.S. Air Force-style flight jumpsuit from things we had lying around (and including some actual flight patches courtesy of an ex-Air Force pilot in our extended family).  He looked as completely convincing as a 3-foot 2-year-old can be.

So it killed the week, but I’m a proud and happy dad just the same.

I’ll probably post more, later, about the airplane with pictures when I get a chance.  Maybe even by Halloween itself.

So, how was your week?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2012 8:19 pm

    NaNo Project #2 of 2, which I had intended to try my hand at writing without any pre-planning whatsoever (outside of figuring out who my main character was), decided to destroy my no-plan plan by dumping the novel’s entire plot into my head against my will. …complete with chapter titles, no less. I do hereby declare myself to be a pathetic excuse for a Pantser. Better luck next year, maybe. In the meantime, I guess I just enjoy plotting too much to bypass that step. And I’m okay with that. (:

    • October 31, 2012 9:23 am

      Well hey, if you’re a planner, then embrace your inner planner! That’s nothing to be ashamed of. Mostly, just write the way you feel comfortable writing, and do what comes naturally. It’s good to try out different ways of doing things, but I don’t think it’s good to force yourself into doing something that doesn’t work for your or is uncomfortable.

      > Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2012 00:19:21 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

      • October 31, 2012 2:49 pm

        I would agree. NaNo comes with enough pressure as it is!

  2. October 29, 2012 9:25 pm

    Ahh you’re being crafty 😉

    I’m not sure how much I wrote last week, between 2 – 3 k? Things are not going as fast as I had hoped, but really its not so bad for the second week of writing. I haven’t quite established a regular routine yet, but I’m working on it.

    • October 31, 2012 9:34 am

      Crafty indeed. 🙂 The final product is flawed, but I’m still pretty proud of it. 2-3K words sounds like you’re still doing pretty good on the writing front, to me. Maybe not what you’d want to be doing, ideally, but it’s nothing to sneeze at. Keep it up!

      > Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2012 01:25:45 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

  3. October 31, 2012 9:11 am

    The airplane sounds like a very worthy project. He’ll remember this Halloween for the rest of his life.

    I got quite a bit done last week: the second mystery is ready to go (for November), and this week is turning out to be productive as well, since the hurricane left me with electricity but no internet. So, to put a positive spin on it, fewer distractions. 🙂

    • October 31, 2012 10:29 am

      It definitely felt good to work on it and finish it – and his reaction to seeing it was worth it. And hey, way to make hurricanade out of a hurricane! Looks like you’re back up and running, now.

      > Date: Wed, 31 Oct 2012 13:11:36 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

      • October 31, 2012 10:58 am

        Internet currently only at a local coffee bar. The place is packed (a lot of people in the area lost power, too). Now I know why I bought an Android tablet. 🙂

        My Internet access isn’t coming back any time soon. I may have to break down and get a smartphone. 🙂

      • October 31, 2012 11:05 am

        Well, good luck, either way. And glad to hear you’re doing alright up there!

        > Date: Wed, 31 Oct 2012 14:58:26 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

