Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending July 21, 2012

July 23, 2012

Hard work and exhaustion has kept me away, of late:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

As expected, last week’s wordcount was not spectacular.  By which I mean there was no wordcount.  Yes, it was Home Project Phase III again.
The Home Project was less physically intense last week, but still demanding of time.  As a comparison… the week prior Dear Wife and I both had to take a day off from work due to the Home Project.  Last week we didn’t take a day off, but our free time in the evenings (when we weren’t just too exhausted to keep working) was largely absorbed by Home Project Phase III.

And at the end of the week, to the surprise of none, I hadn’t done any writing.  We’ll see about this week.  There’s still so much left to do that I’m not really hopeful.  But we’ve already accomplished a lot on the Home Project, so maybe there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.

How was your week?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2012 5:45 pm

    700 words for me, or one evening, and that is all. It’s been pretty dismal on the word count front, and difficult to get into the mindset to write lately. At least its non-zero?

    • July 23, 2012 5:46 pm

      Wow i feel like a broken record! I wrote almost the exact thing last week LOL

      • July 24, 2012 8:24 am

        You’re not the only one! 😉 My post is pretty much a rehash of last week’s post as well. But yeah, at least you had a non-zero number.

      • July 25, 2012 1:27 pm

        Me, too. Mostly the same as last week. Bought a new notebook. Came up with a very dramatic idea for a story (basically a more dramatic idea for the story I was thinking about anyway). Not sure I can make it work.

        Well, I did do two blog posts. 🙂

        Anyway, what about this news that now The Hobbit is now going to be THREE movies? I am viewing this development with alarm and dismay. How about everybody else?

      • July 25, 2012 1:56 pm

        Well, as to the Hobbit… everything I’ve seen suggests it’s mostly rumor and innuendo at the moment: there is no third movie, as yet, that is actually planned. And making it happen will mean writing more scripts, bringing everyone back for more filming, and require a lot of extensive and laborious edits to existing footage to make the new stuff all fit in. Given that I haven’t seen any definitive statements on the issue, I’m not convinced it’s happening. I do think that the two movies makes sense, and that three is probably stretching it for the Hobbit, but at the same time I deeply enjoyed Peter Jackson’s LotR adaptation, so I’m willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. If you look outside of just the Hobbit, Tolkien certainly left enough material to fill out another movie (even more if you can pull in, for instance, The Silmarillion; but the film rights to that have not been sold, as I understand it). Either way, we’ll see.

  2. July 24, 2012 5:35 pm

    Nice. What?—Home Project Phase III? I’ve been away for too long, I have to get my bearings around here again…

    This week has been great! Well, apart from a word count of around 500, in several different projects. The problem with ADD is that you end up running out of steam for all the projects you’re juggling all at once instead of one-at-a-time.

    Ah well. Looking forward to the rest of this week for some serious word counts.

    • July 25, 2012 9:00 am

      Yeah, for most of this year… all of it, really, Dear Wife and I have been engaged in a major “home improvement” project (I use the phrase “home improvement” with deliberate vagueness as it can properly describe any number of scenarios, only one of which is what Dear Wife and I are actually doing). It’s been ongoing throughout this time, but I divided it into three “phases” because each burst of activity and work has been separated by a fairly long haiatus of down-time. I’m pretty sure Phase III is the last phase in this immediate project, though we’ll probably be working on Phase III related activities for weeks to come. Now we do anticipate further home improvement projects down the line, but I expect any new projects to be a couple years away, at least. As for juggling too many projects… I know what that’s like. I’ve learned to pare down. I still do multiple projects but I keep the number limited.

Trackbacks

  1. Wednesday Wordcount « The (anti) Procrastination Diaries
  2. Weekly Write up and Wednesday Wordcount « The (anti) Procrastination Diaries

Leave a Reply

