Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending April 21, 2012

April 23, 2012

No one could possibly have foreseen this:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

What happened?  Well… there’s the “Home Project Phase II” I’ve been talking about.  That started happening this week past.  It took out a couple of evenings.  A couple more were consumed by Dear Wife and I alternately either playing board games together, watching TV together, and such (i.e. what I classify either as “Relationship Time” and “Family Time”).  And then there were the out-of-town guests who were visiting, such as my dear Grandmother and one of my aunts whom I haven’t seen in several years, and also my own parents (i.e. the Grandparents of little B.T.).  Stuff like that… it adds up.  When it was all added up last week… well… I never even turned on my computer for the purposes of writing.  I came close a couple of times… but it was late in the evening, and I figured when I deducted between 10-15 minutes for my laptop to load up and for me to open all of the relevant files and programs… then I’d have so little time left to write before I’d want to go to bed that it wasn’t worth the hassle of going through the start-up screens.  (May I just say: I love writing; I hate staring at my computer and waiting for it to let me do something productive with it.)  So at those times I just picked up a book instead.

This week coming up, I don’t have the out-of-town family visiting.  But I expect “Home Project Phase II” to ramp up into high-gear.  Because of that, too, there’s actually likely to beslightly less “Relationship & Family Time” of the sort I mentioned above (I’m not completely sure on that).  So we’ll see if that leaves open an evening where writing may happen.  But as of now, I’m fully expecting this week to land at another “0 words” or close there-to.  Best case scenario, writing-wise, is I get one free evening and manage to churn out maybe 600-750 words on the top-side.

So that’s where things are in my writing world right now.  How about yours?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 8:22 am

    “I’d have so little time left to write before I’d want to go to bed that it wasn’t worth the hassle of going through the start-up screens” I find this is where pen and paper can come in useful. My lunch break at work is only a half hour, but sometimes I can devote most of it to writing by going old-school. The same for that right-before-bed time.

    My week was pretty good. I started part four of Stevie One (1,261 words, and more written but not yet typed up). I think the story is coming together well, and this scene shows a nice contrast about my detective that I think I’ve never really shown before (how abstracted she can be when investigating a crime scene, compared to how efficient she can be when the shooting starts).

    It seems that my dreams of making millions of dollars by marketing this as a YA novel aren’t going to work out, because it turns out there’s a sex scene (not involving the protag). Oh, well. 🙂

    • April 24, 2012 8:40 am

      Yeah, I’m not opposed to the old-fashioned pen-n-paper method of writing, and I do it myself sometimes – typically at the ideation stage or other early stages of writing. But at some point I achieve a critical mass of supporting material and documents for a particular project in electronic form, and that strongly favors continued use of the computer for the remainder of the project. I use these tools sort of as an extension of my mental faculties: I often can’t hold the entire relevant history and worldbuilding and outlined plan in my head all at once, and these tools put those details at my fingertips. To borrow a rather useful phrase from author Jay Lake, these tools help me extend my “span of control” to encompass the length and breadth of the novel.

      • April 24, 2012 9:32 am

        Ah, I know exactly what you mean. Waldoes. 🙂

        When I first went on the internet, back in the early 1990s, I used the handle “waldo,” since I felt like my reach had just extended to cover the world.

      • April 24, 2012 9:43 am

        Yeah. Something like that. 😉

Leave a Reply

