Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending February 18, 2012

February 21, 2012

My wordcount is back up again, this week, despite another tough week of work and home projects:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 2,040 words

Grand Total: 2,040 words

First of all… apologies to any readers who are actually looking forward to these little weekly updates of mine.  A combination of the local (US) holiday on Monday, which was spent mostly immersed in the afore- (and oft-) mentioned home projects, and a very tough day at work have left my blogging time somewhat constrained.

As for the writing?  It was a good week.  I finished the last of the major character bios that I needed to work on.  It became necessary to write it up when I realized I was stuck in the overall outline trying to figure out how to end that major character’s story arc.  So, I solved that plot problem, and I gave the character what I hope is a fitting ending for his arc.  And then I made the necessary adjustments to the outline, adding new scenes for the character and trying to include sufficient foreshadowing.

This puts me one important step closer to tying up this outline and calling it finished.  I’m now poised to face down the final climactic moment of the book in the week (or two) ahead.

All I can say is: outlining is a lot harder than I anticipated it being.

So tell me, then, how was your writing week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 7:17 am

    Well, as you know, I look forward to the weekly updates (but my tastes are not always mainstream 🙂 ).

    It sounds like you had a good week. The word count is one thing, but there’s also the particular satisfaction of solving a knotty problem. That can be a good feeling all by itself.

    I had a good week, too. I finished and posted the end of Part One of my current project (in honor of Part One being complete, I’ll post a link: http://utownwriting.com/stevie1/?p=12). The word count is 6.725, which is pretty much in line with my goal, and I removed two substantial scenes which I probably would have left in before, but one was a distraction and the other revealed too much too soon. But maybe even more satisfying than that, I’ve figured out the general shape of Part Two, including planting something I’ll need later. I also realized how an event that had always been part of the story could actually trigger the main events of the plot.

    So, with all that, I’ll probably be ready to start posting Part Two pretty soon.

    • February 22, 2012 8:56 am

      Yes, I had you in mind when I wrote that. When I first started these weekly updates, I didn’t expect anybody would actually read them. They were more about keeping myself honest with my writing progress. But I’m glad they’re useful in other ways.

      Anyway, yes, there’s a definite satisfaction to solving a problem in a story.

      And it’s good when you can make connections between different ideas and events in your story that tie things together nicely.

  2. February 22, 2012 2:39 pm

    I also always wait for the weekly updates. 🙂 Been using them the same way Anthony has, to look back and see if I’ve been productive LOL

    I’ve had a good week. Still on a writing break, but working on the query again. Last time it drove me bonkers, but this time I’m having fun with it. I threw together a few different versions, and am now paring each one down.

    • February 22, 2012 2:52 pm

      I definitely do not look forward to queries. Honestly… even when I finish “Book of M”, I’m not sure I’ll be in any rush to query anyone on it. I might just sit on it for a year or two while I start on the next book instead…

Leave a Reply

