Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending January 28, 2012

January 30, 2012

Another highly productive week of writing is behind me.

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 3,241 words

Grand Total: 3,241 words

Once again, my progress for the week was well-distributed across multiple writing days, demonstrating the fact that if I have the time to write, I can, in fact, write.  And these last two weeks I’ve been able to smuggle a lot of time across the border, so to speak, and I’ve been really productive.  The reverse will sometimes be true, I expect, in the coming few weeks  – because Dear Wife and I will need to focus a lot of our limited time-resources on planned House Projects, the current phase of which we want to finish roughly by the midpoint of February.  Pursuit of these joint-2012 goals – which are otherwise irrelevant to this blog – rank higher in importance, and I’m excited for this work to get done.  But nevermind that.  What about the writing, you ask?

Well, as I reported last week, I missed my self-imposed deadline for completing my prep-work for “Book of M” again.  I still haven’t finished the outline (at least… not as of the end of last week).  But I’m really quite close – in the last 10% of the book close, or so I think.  When last I visited with my characters, I was pondering the plot problems presented when one airship is reportedly significantly faster than another – and yet to have the final climactic moment happen at the prescribed time and place, I needed said second, faster airship to catch up with the first much more slowly than it’s speed would indicate.  In other words, the first, slower airship needed a bigger head start.  I’ve thought about it since then, and come to what is probably the answer as I realized that I still had one major plot thread that wouldn’t be adequately resolved in the final climax – I needed to resolve it first, and doing so would probably resolve that relative airship speed dilemma.

Anyway, that’s a bit specific with regards to the plot.  But you get the idea.  I’m right on the cusp of outlining out what happens in the climax.  And the great part: I have some idea exactly what that climax is.  When I started this outline, I really wasn’t sure where I was going to end up.  I had a few inklings, but no firm idea.  Now… I’m pretty sure I do know.  So that’s some big progress.  And while I’m truly excited to start the next phase, I do have that nagging voice in the back of my head that’s telling me: this is really good, but it’s not great.  You’ll have your work cut out for you in revisions, that’s for sure.  First I still have quite a bit to do, though, if I want to finish this by month’s end, and finally, finally start writing that first draft…

That was my week in writing.  How was yours?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 11:03 pm

    I was surprised with an idea for a short story in the middle of the night. Forgoing sleep for plotting (against my will, but my brain’s a brat and had its own way), I was able to get the tale down the next day, with only minor revisions needed over the next couple days. I sent it in to the publication that inspired it, so we’ll see if aught comes of that. *hoping*
    And talking of revisions, for my next trick, I’m trying to take an old storyline from back when my writing was an unpublishable mess and make a proper book of it. It’s such daunting work, I’m pretty sure it’s going to get a blog post. Wish me luck!

    • January 31, 2012 9:25 am

      Well, good luck! I know it’s a tough market out there, right now. So I’ll just wish you good luck a second time, just in case. It’s nice, although decidedly inconvenient, when you get those bursts of inspiration right as sleepytime calls… These days I don’t have the flexibility to just jump back up and write it all down like I used to… so I try to go over it in my mind again and again and again, repeating it to myself, so that I won’t forget it, and can write it down in the morning.

  2. January 31, 2012 7:49 am

    I had a pretty good week. I did three blog posts (two on my blog and one on Emerald’s — hey, that’s a lot for me), and I started a new story. I posted the beginning, and I’ve got quite a bit more nearly ready to go: http://u-town.com/collins/?p=3025.

    • January 31, 2012 12:09 pm

      It feels good to start on a project like that, doesn’t it?

      • January 31, 2012 1:16 pm

        It really does feel good. It’s been a while since I deliberately started something new like this. The mystery stories just sort of happened, because writing the first one was so much fun.

      • January 31, 2012 2:26 pm

        Ultimately, I think that’s the best reason to be writing anything: because it’s fun.

  3. January 31, 2012 12:07 pm

    Almost there Watkins! I hope to hear about first drafting soon 😉

    As for me, I managed to get ~ 6k of writing done. This novel is turning out longer than anticipated. I should be at the halfway mark by now, but the mark keeps getting pushed back. I am confident I can tighten it up during edits though. Other than that, been doing more beta reading (almost done on that front) and regular reading. I’d have to say, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland is now one of my favorite books. Such a pleasure to read, even though it’s middle grade.

    • January 31, 2012 1:19 pm

      Yeah, I feel that way about “Book of M” (re: moving goal posts), and I haven’t even started the actual first draft, yet. I set myself what I figured was an ambitiously tight wordcount target for this book… and I knew from the beginning that there was a good chance I’d go over that, considering my history. But as I’ve been outlining, I’ve found that pulling all the threads together has taken a lot more plot than I expected…. and all that plot is going to take some wordcount. The saving grace is that I don’t really know, yet, how much actual first draft wordcount corresponds to how much outline – so it’s possible it’ll take less to get through each of the constituent parts than I suspect. Time will soon tell. For you, though… it sounds like you’re getting some pretty productive weeks in! That’s great! I look forward to some future sneak-peak at book #2…

Leave a Reply

