Skip to content

It Is Coming…

January 12, 2012

I can’t wait.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 5:23 pm

    The best part was when the dwarves started singing.

    The best, best, best part of the old animated Hobbit was the singing of the dwarves, and this evoked that scene incredibly strongly.

    • January 12, 2012 6:23 pm

      You liked the old animated Hobbit?!? LOL I couldn’t stand all the singing there, but in this Hobbit it’s pretty darned cool.

      • January 13, 2012 8:59 am

        Well, yes, I did. I was a nerd from my very youngest days… and that includes having liked animated epic fantasies. (Besides, I was well-trained by Disney to often expect songs in my animated fantasy movies.)

  2. January 12, 2012 5:40 pm

    This will be an amazing year for movies. So excited!

    As for Tolkien’s works…one day I’ll actually get around to reading them, heh.

    • January 13, 2012 8:47 am

      Between this and “Dark Knight Rises”… I don’t know what to do with myself. As for Tolkien – it’s funny. I don’t often recommend reading Tolkien, actually, despite loving the books myself. His writing style is somewhat difficult for modern audiences, I think, and it might turn some folks off of reading fantasy if they think all fantasy is that dense and difficult to read. However, if you’re a writer of fantasy (or have read some other fantasy stuff and are into the genre), I do sort of think it’s required reading.

  3. January 12, 2012 7:07 pm

    It’s a long way off, so at the moment I’m affecting a blase attitude. I don’t expect that to last, though.

    And besides, Dark Shadows is coming sooner. I can’t get 100% excited about anything else until I see that. 🙂

    (Oh, as for the songs, is Howard Shore doing the music again? If so, I have confidence all the music will be good. I like Shore anyway — the music for eXistenZ is great — and the music in the trilogy was wonderful.)

    • January 13, 2012 9:06 am

      I was never a huge fan of Vampires or Soap Operas, so I never watched Dark Shadows back in the day. Consequently, the movie adaptation has barely even registered on my radar (despite my generally being a fan of Burton/Depp/Elfman collaborations). As for Howard Shore… I was going to say (A) good lord, I hope so! Then (B) based on the music in the trailer (which sounds like actual tracks from the movie in question, rather than riffs from other movies/classical music as is more common for movie trailers of this type), it certainly sounds like it. But then I thought… well, why I don’t I check and see if that question has been answered already? To whit: http://screenrant.com/the-hobbit-music-howard-shore-ross-88535/ and http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Birthright76/news/?a=25416

      • January 15, 2012 2:03 am

        If you’re old enough to have watched DS “back in thr day,” then you’re older than I thought you were:-)

        Me, it was a regular after-school ritual for a couple of years, and it warped my tiny adolescent mind. It’s why I’m named “Collins,” after all. I may write more about this on my blog this week.

        My DS enthusiasm was helpful when I was writing about Inherent Vice, BTW, since apparently Pynchon was a fan as well. The show is mentioned three times in the novel, and one plot element in the book seems to have a DS connection

      • January 17, 2012 11:07 am

        I would never have made the “Collins” connection, without you having pointed it out. As it turns out, however, when I say “back in the day”, apparently I meant “when it was in syndication”. I didn’t realize the show was quite as old as it is. I just recall, in my childhood, some family members being hooked on it for a while. But my childhood doesn’t overlap with the period of the show’s original airing, so I have to conclude it was in syndication. I’m getting old, now… but no I’m not that old yet!

  4. January 12, 2012 8:19 pm

    You’d think there’d be a lot more excitement about this here in New Zealand, where its being made, but I think we’re all hobbited out!

    • January 13, 2012 9:09 am

      All…. All… hobbitted out. My dear lady… You speak sacrilege to the holy writ of Tolkien 😛

  5. January 13, 2012 12:32 am

    Lol — when this trailer first came out, my friend from two time zones away called me so we could watch it in sync together over the phone, two or three times. We spent about ten minutes afterward whimpering over the fact that we’d have to wait a year for this truly epic-looking film. And it was then I vowed to clear my calendar for a viewing of “The Hobbit” on her side of the country, come Dec. 2012. *So shall it be!*
    Yes, the dwarves’ singing was — wow — like nothing else. And hello-o-o, Thorin Oakenshield… Looks like an excellent choice for Bilbo, too.
    Ga-a-ah, you’ve got me whimpering in pain again. Hurry, “Hobbit”, hurry!

    • January 13, 2012 9:15 am

      Oh my yes. Talk about hanging us on tenterhooks. It was probably the right decision to omit him (besides which he might not even appear until the second Hobbit movie) but I can’t wait to catch my first glimpse of Smaug. (Dragons are my favorite bit of fantasy/mythology.) Not seeing him was like “Really?!?! But… Me Want Dragon!” I’m very hopeful that Dear Wife and I will be able to make it out sometime opening weekend, if possible.

      • January 15, 2012 1:44 am

        I can pretty much guarantee that, this for from the release date, Smaug is not done. For movies like this, special effects take the longest time, and I think there have been cases where effects have been shown in trailers befpre they were 100% finished, the fans got all worked up, and bad publicity ensued. Even apart from the question of whether Smaug wiill even be in the first movie. Besides, it will be something to look forward to, right? 🙂

      • January 17, 2012 10:54 am

        Yes, it will – not that the whole movie isn’t something I’m already looking forward to. But I’d wager you’re right on the special effects issue. I’ve read accounts of final effects not being finished until only weeks before a movie prints and ships to theaters…

Leave a Reply

