Skip to content

Writing Progress: Two Weeks Ending December 31, 2011

January 4, 2012

The Holidays went about as expected, writing wise.  Wrapping up the year 2011 and the two weeks off for Christmas and New Year’s, here’s how I did:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 543 words

Grand Total: 543 words

I barely even turned on a computer over the Holidays, so in many ways this is better than I expected.  In fact, I wouldn’t even have written this much if I hadn’t come down with what I think was a case of food poisoning in time for Christmas Eve.  (I was better by Christmas Day, mostly.)  So whereas I would’ve preferred to spend the day out-and-about with family, instead I was bed-bound for half the day.  Naturally, with a laptop as my only companion, I spent some time writing.

I focused on more character notes this go-round, writing the history of the co-protagonist.  I haven’t finished his history, yet, to the point of the beginning of the story, but what I have done gives me a few interesting story hooks and points-of-conflict with the main protagonist.  I’m not sure, yet, how I’ll resolve those points-of-conflict so the two can work together.  But it should keep things interesting.

As for the main outline, I’m still semi-stalled at the point which I’m calling “Chapter 10” where I realized I needed to stop and work out some character and world-building issues.  I spend a little time each day thinking about the world-building questions raised by the plot turn I had planned – what the implications of it are, and how it can be – but so far I’ve not answered those questions for myself satisfactorily.  But I’m getting closer to figuring it out, I think.

Now that the Holidays are over, I’m looking forward to getting back in the saddle and putting some words down.  This week won’t be spectacular, wordcount-wise, but hopefully I’ll start building some momentum.

That’s how writing has been around these parts.  How has it gone in your neck of the woods?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 1:03 pm

    I did about 100 words of writing in the last two weeks, but didn’t expect to do more than that. The holidays are always busy 😉 I was actually looking forward to getting back to the normal routine again (and yes, work LOL). Hmm I finished 2 novels, and outlined a short story as well, so it wasn’t completely unproductive. Back to writing this week!

    • January 4, 2012 4:34 pm

      Outlining certainly is writing work! (I should know ;)) And reading, too. See, you’ve been busy!

  2. January 4, 2012 8:42 pm

    I don’t do much for the holidays, except for the holidays themselves (and really nothing for New Year’s), so I’ve been getting quite a bit done, though I’ve no idea where I’m going. My new project is now 33 handwritten pages, some of which I’ve started to type up. And just today I thought of a general structure, and possibly a way to incorporate another storyline that I’ve never really had a satisfactory place for.

    • January 6, 2012 11:55 am

      In years past, I used to think that with all the time off from the day-job I’d surely be super-productive for the Holidays. I’ve learned over the past couple years that this simply isn’t going to happen. Glad you’re able to get stuff done, though.

  3. January 5, 2012 12:59 am

    Progress crawled on Christmas weekend (as anticipated), but things have picked up since then, much to my delight/relief. (Dialogue involving one of the chattier protagonists tends to move a good deal faster than the lyrically descriptive passages.)
    I’m about 2/3rds of the way toward my minimum word-count goal for this novel, and we’ve yet to reach the foot of Mount Climax, so I should still have plenty of story to fill that last third (and possibly more; I’ll know better as I continue on). If I can keep up something close to the pace I’ve got going now, I ought to make my end-of-the-month deadline with a bit of room to spare (which would be very nice indeed).
    Sorry to hear about the food poisoning. ):

    • January 6, 2012 12:02 pm

      Sounds like you’re making great progress. That’s great! And thanks for the thoughts on the food-poisoning; luckily this one was mild compared to the case I got about 2 years ago. That time I literally felt like I was dying. This time I just felt crummy for a day (plus some of the usual food-poisoning symptoms).

  4. January 8, 2012 6:04 pm

    Working out world-building and character issues may be a drag, but it pays off in the end, because you won’t have to go back in and rework the structure of the story. Trust me, I would know (going through a round of edits—it’s basically a nightmare).

    Ecgh, food poisoning must have been miserable, especially on days when people are planning on enjoying themselves.

    • January 9, 2012 9:25 am

      Indeed, that’s part of my belief. I also have a sort of writer’s paralysis until I get certain details locked down. Like, I keep thinking “I don’t want to contradict myself! So I need to write it down, first!”

Trackbacks

  1. The Holidays, Family, Games, and Time Well-Spent « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

