Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending November 26, 2011

November 28, 2011

Like I said last week… I’ve struggled to get over 2,000 words per week, which used to be about my average.  I’m guessing the average has gone down by now.  Still… I came so close.

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 1,871 words

Grand Total: 1,871 words

Funny enough, I probably could have done a good amount more writing if not for the holiday weekend, maybe an extra 400 to 600 words this week.  I’ve said this before about holidays, but it bears repeating: you’d think holidays would be good for my writing productivity, but in fact almost all of the “free time” opened by holidays is usually taken up by other, holiday-related activities.  Time with family appreciating and enjoying the holiday is not time spent writing.  Sometimes holidays entail travel, too.  Travel time is not writing time.  And my laptop is so large, it usually doesn’t accompany us when we travel – it’s portable only in the loosest sense of the word, but that’s because when I got it I needed a desktop replacement more than I needed portability.  When we don’t travel (which is rare on the holidays right now), there’s usually so much to do around the house that the available time vacuum is filled quickly and without remorse. 

And so it was that when I was thinking, earlier in the week, “Surely I can find time over the weekend to write another 400 or so words and break my sub-2,000 drought” that, in fact, I was not able to.  Other things took precedence.

Still, I’ve come a good distance.  I said last week than in the next week or two I’d finally be done with the history.  I didn’t finish it this week, but I judge that I’m within 3,000 words of completing the history document.  I’m at the point in the history where I’m recounting the events that transpired in the village of Isa, the protagonist, immediately following the cataclysmic events that ended the war I talked about in my last update.  That’s still just under 300 years of history to cover in the interim, leading up to Isa’s modern-day – so considering that I’ve covered approximately 1,500 years in about 35,000 words worth of background history notes, maybe my 3,00o-word target is a bit optimistic.  But I think it’s not too much more than that, at worst.  The whole idea is “the world is post-apocyalyptic”.  So there’s my apocalypse.  It was 300 years ago, yes… but we’re still dealing with the aftermath, because apocalypses have big aftermaths.  That’s why we call it an “apocalypse”.  (Note: the previous sentence is snarky.  That’s not why we call it an apocalypse at all – that’s a more complicated etymology thing – but it does sound very apocalyptic, doesn’t it?)

That was my writing week – looking forward to wrapping up this history document very soon – how was yours?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 7:19 pm

    So *that’s* why we can it an apocalyspe! X)
    My writing week hasn’t been too bad. I haven’t been consistent (*hangs head in mild shame*), but words have been written. I’m in the middle of a “Ballad” world short-story heavily based on (and, in some cases, straight-up spoofing) an old, seasonal classic, aiming to have it finished in time to share with folks on or just before Christmas — which, barring an apocalypse, is totally doable.

    • November 29, 2011 9:37 am

      I wouldn’t bar an apocalypse, if I were you, just in case. You know what they say about apocalypses: expect them when you least expect them! Which seasonal classic, may I ask, are you riffing on? (I’m guessing everyone’s favorite, involving ghosts and misers?)

      • November 29, 2011 6:27 pm

        NO one expects the Spanish apocalypse!
        And you guess correctly. 🙂 Who knows, maybe next year I’ll tackle everyone’s *second*-favorite, involving wingless angels and ZuZu’s petals.

      • November 30, 2011 8:43 am

        Ah yes. That’s a wonderful one, too. 😉

  2. November 29, 2011 7:20 am

    I thought we called it an “apocalypse” because it was apocalyptic. That’s logical, right? 🙂

    (By the way, this may be the first time I’ve ever seen the word “apocalypses.” In fact, I just checked my dictionary and it doesn’t seem to mention a plural, which is odd. This might reflect wishful thinking.)

    Anyway, my word count this week was zero, but that’s fine because I’m in revisions. Of the eleven stories I’m planning to include in my book (up from ten, I know) three have had their second set of revisions made, three more have had the second set of revisions marked but not yet made, and the rest still need the second run-through. Then some additional parts need to be created (mostly floor plans and maps — I always put those off to last because I suck at graphics). Then a final read/revise of the whole thing for consistency and flow. Then beta readers.

    So, some progress, lots more to do.

    • November 29, 2011 9:44 am

      Well… probably no plural becaue theoretically there’s only one apocalypse. One and done. After that, no more world, because it’s the end of the world, right? Except, of course, if you’ve got a post-apocalypse then the world isn’t really done, is it? Ergo, the potential for multiple apocalypses, and the need for a plural form of the word. Moving on… I find it interesting that you save the maps for last. I usually do at least some rudimentary mapping up-front, usually before I start writing draft. For me, creating the map helps make the world/environment more real and more concrete, which helps me write about it. If you’re in need of a beta reader, I can offer some time as a pair of eyes mostly unfamiliar with your work/characters. I will warn that I’m a bit slow in reading, though.

      • November 29, 2011 6:29 pm

        Apocalypse, Part 2: This time, we leave no remnant!

      • November 30, 2011 8:47 am

        Apocalypse & Apocalypser: Because an Apocalypse that doesn’t wipe humanity from the face of the earth is dumb.

  3. November 29, 2011 11:59 am

    First of all, I appreciate the beta read offer, and I will definitely take you up on that when I’m ready. Speed is not really a major issue, since my tentative plan is to get the book to that stage, send it to the beta readers, then work on somethng else for a while to get a little distance (or as much distance as I can get when the other project will still be built around the same characters).

    I understand your point about maps, but my “map” is really just a big floor plan, not a Lord of the Rings-type map. It only covers one city block, showing four buildings of a hospital and the courtyard between them (where the body of the murdered man was found).

    • November 29, 2011 12:02 pm

      Yeah, but for me, if the position and location of things was at all important to the plot then I’d still want to draw at least a rudimentary map before writing the scenes where it mattered. Just the way my mind works…

      • November 29, 2011 3:59 pm

        I did! I totally did! Rudimentary, as you say. On a piece of paper.

        Which I haven’t seen since. 🙂

      • November 29, 2011 4:05 pm

        Ah. Well, those little pieces of paper do have a habit of disappearing, don’t they? 😉

  4. November 29, 2011 12:46 pm

    Holiday time is not conducive to writing time, I find. 🙂 Too many other things going on! I still haven’t been doing any writing, but finishing up beta reading, and getting ready for the holiday season. Not very exciting around these here parts. hehe.

    • November 29, 2011 12:52 pm

      Well, maybe not exciting, writing-wise. But surely exciting in other ways? I find the holidays very exciting, just not very, as you say, “conducive to writing”.

Leave a Reply

