Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending August 27, 2011

August 28, 2011

It sure looks like someone dropped the ball… but what’s the real story?

Story of G:

  • New Draft Wordcount: 0 net new words 
  • Other Notes Wordcount: 0 words

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 321 words

Grand Total: 321 words

Well.  This was not the most incredibly prolifically stupendous writing week ever.  Ironic in a week when I post a massive block of text about long, doorstopper fantasies and the folks who write them.  But there is a little more than meets the eye, here.

On “Book of M”, I started experimenting with shifting into an “outline” format with the histories I’m writing.  I think it’s doable, but I’m going to have to adjust the methodology a little.  I covered a lot more ground in a lot fewer words… but interestingly it took me almost as long to write those words as it would’ve to write considerably more.  On the upside, yes it took me longer to write fewer words, but those fewer words covered a lot more ground than what I’d been doing with three times that number in wordcount.

I figure that over time I can go back and flesh out the historical outline a little. 

However, it is clear to me, at this time, that I’m going to miss my “Labor Day Weekend” deadline.  There’s no way I can get what I need done, even in a compacted form, before that time and be ready to commence with actual draft.  Plus, I need a little more time to get used to outlining the history instead of just writing it.  I do think it will help me to move through this stage of planning faster than otherwise, but I just need a little more time.  Luckily, a self-imposed deadline isn’t one that’s terrible if you miss it; but I feel really guilty about missing it just the same.  I’m eager to get to the meat of the story, but I just won’t feel ready until I have a solid foundation to work from.

I don’t think this is worldbuilder’s disease. At least I hope not.  I’ve got a specific goal, and I know what I need to do to achieve it, and I’m making progress toward it. I don’t believe I’m worldbuilding because I’m subconsciously avoiding the real deal.  Like I said, I’m eager to start. 

But this week I only spent one day working on “Book of M”. 

The rest of my writing time I spent on “Story of G”.  Not that I have much to show for that.  Most of that time was lost to research, actually, so there’s not any wordcount to show for that.  And the time spent “writing” was actually spent reviewing what I’d already written and making corrections here or there.  I came to a point where I wanted to add new material, and felt instead that I needed some additional information to get the details of the story just right.  In reality my net add was greater than 0, but it wasn’t appreciably greater than 0, so I didn’t feel the need to spend time counting it up.  But I did a lot of reading up, instead.

I also lost a good bit of writing time this week to lawn care.  That’s one of those regular things you just have to deal with when you’re all grown up and responsible and stuff.  Some time on another day was spent doing some work on that aforementioned epic post on epic wordcounts.  My blog posts aren’t usually that long nor do they typically require that much research, so they don’t take so much of a hunk out of my normal writing time.  This post, however, was different, and that really ate into regular writing time.

So that was my writing week  How was yours?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 8:08 pm

    I think that any words you wrote last week in addition to that blog post would be gravy, word-count wise. 🙂

    Me, I posted a new chapter of the second draft of my WIP (2,566 words), and have already got some very good comments. I’m working on the next chapter, but that’s more difficult since some of it’s coming from the first draft. The ones that I’m writing from scratch are a lot easier.

    Also, it’s easy get work done when you’re basically stuck inside for a day and a half by a hurricane (since it didn’t cut off my power or internet). And I may not be able to go to work tomorrow either.

    • August 29, 2011 12:34 pm

      Well, I hope you were safe through the hurricane, then! It seems pretty common to find editing and rewriting existing draft to be more difficult than creating new draft… When you get in the zone, it can be surprising how much track you lay down… but it always seems that going back and rearranging it and polishing it just takes so much more effort…

      • August 30, 2011 9:26 pm

        Proving the point (not that it needed proving), I got a lot of work done on Chapter Six today. Unfortunately, I’m supposed to be working on Chapter Five, but Six is all new stuff and Five is a cut-and-paste-and-smooth-and-recut job. At this rate I’ll have Six finished before Five, which will confuse the readers, I’m sure.

      • August 31, 2011 8:22 am

        Well, typically there’s nothing wrong with working out of order… unless, of course, you’ve got readers who are following along as you go… 😉 Good luck figuring it out!

      • August 31, 2011 6:59 pm

        My current plan is to post 5 and 6 at the same time. We’ll see how that works out.

      • September 1, 2011 10:27 am

        That’s probably the same approach I would take.

  2. August 29, 2011 12:45 am

    Yeah…I would think that one blog post took up considerable time, but you still got to practice some writing! Just of a different sort. 😀

    This has been a very frustrating week for me. In an effort to make certain fantastical elements seem plausible by coupling it with researched elements, one of my chapters became bloated beyond belief (like I suddenly developed a science fiction writer’s mind–ah!) and now I’m forced to re-evaluate what I have down now to determine what must go. So I’ve printed it out by itself (not single-spaced and two sheets to a page this time) so I can see how to make the chapter flow more smoothly and sustain suspense but also how to divide it with breaks so that it feels more manageable from a reading standpoint.

    Respecting realism and plausibility while remaining an imaginative fantasy writer is very difficult sometimes.

    I went through over 7,100 words but it’s grown too far from where I want it to be that I now feel I must step back to see the big picture again, to keep my focus from getting buried in minutiae; then I can have another whack at it again with a much broader perspective. (It’s like I have to tell myself it’s okay sometimes to provide general descriptions and not get so deep into certain sections because I really like being there “in the moment” with my characters. I think I lost that rhythm of alternating between zooming in and out, perspective-wise, like I’ve tried to do with all my other chapters; instead, in this case I just remained too close for too long.)

    *sighs* Speaking of yard work, I’m supposed to take care of some nasty little weeds in our back yard… Um, in this 110+ degree weather? Not cool!

    • August 29, 2011 12:40 pm

      Well, no, 110+ degree whether is, by definition, not cool. 😉 But yes, that was a pretty monstrous post, but even so I’m kind of surprised about how much of my time it took up. Blog posts just usually don’t take that much effort… The situation you currently face sounds perplexing. I’ve not quite been in a comparable situation, yet, so it’s hard to comment on it. We’ll see how things go in “Book of M”, because I can imagine a similar difficulty, vis-a-vis getting bogged down in the minutia of history and of how things work…

  3. August 29, 2011 12:25 pm

    Only 1000 words for me this week. Been trying to take advantage of the last days of summer, and I can’t complain 😉 It’s been a good week and nice to take a break. Next week I intend to take a break from the new novel and start on revisions again.

    My brain for the moment is still on vacation LOL

    • August 29, 2011 12:43 pm

      Ah, yes, and a vacation is necessary sort of thing. I feel like this summer has sped by with barely a moment of freedom, excepting the writing time. It’s been great to have freedom with respects to no school… but there’s still the day job and various other exigencies of life, and I haven’t really had a break with those. Still… having had the burden of school removed, I can’t say I’m ungrateful. It’s been very freeing. Writing has felt like an escape and vacation alone, without having to have gone anywhere.

Leave a Reply

