Skip to content

Ready for Google+?

July 16, 2011

I haven’t been invited yet.  So I’m not yet on the hot-new-thing in Social Networking.

But this NYT review of Google+ makes it sound very interesting – in that it corrects for many of the problems and things that are wrong with Facebook.

That makes me more curious, and interested… I can see this as being a very good thing.  I hope WordPress integration comes shortly after it goes wide – if I start using Google+ at some point, I’m sure I’ll want to integrate my blog readership with this new service.

Anyone already been invited who can share their perspective?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 10:13 pm

    No invites yet and I’m in no hurry, though I’m sure I’ll give it a spin at some point.

    It is interesting that the Times covered one aspect of Facebook’s privacy problems (that the default is that all of your friends, and your friends’ friends, etc. can see what you’re up to). It sounds like Google handles that better, though that’s not a very high bar to get over. All they have to do is leave your settings the way you set them and they’ll be better than FB.

    But the other privacy problem with Facebook has always been their relentless eagerness to expose all of your Profile info to search engines and therefore to the world. That would have to be _more_ of concern with Google, since they _are_ the search engine. No reasonable person would think they’re going to keep anything private from themselves.

    So, I’ll give it a spin at some point, but I’m not telling it anything I don’t want the world to know.

    • July 18, 2011 9:17 am

      I do think that “not telling it anything I don’t want the world to know” is probably a good policy, these days, for any social network. Privacy is a concern, and better privacy options are better, but I think it’s a good idea to treat these as essentially public profiles – not much different than a blog. Google being Google, that’s probably especially pertinent to keep in mind. That said, what excites me about the potential for Google+ is how it might enable me to interact, publicly with other writers and readers in a way that’s clean and efficient. I think there’s some neat functionality built into it that would fascilitate that, in the way it does Circles and Hangouts. Hangouts, for instance, would be great for doing writing groups online, and giving them most of the benefits of a face-to-face groups.

  2. July 18, 2011 12:48 am

    I can invite you if you’d like. I use lists on facebook, so although circles exist it doesn’t feel that unique (although the UI is much nicer with google+ on this feature).

    However, I’ve never been a huge social networking person. I’m shy and although computers can make some things easier, I still don’t feel comfortable talking in large groups and social networks feel like large groups to me.

    • July 18, 2011 12:52 am

      Of course, one drawback is that they link your Google Profile to the google+ account and unfortunately Google Apps (I use this to power email for my domain) doesn’t support Google Profile.

      • July 18, 2011 9:46 am

        Hmm. I’m not sure on the technical details… what does this mean in practice?

      • July 18, 2011 11:56 am

        It’s a first-world problem few people will likely have. I’ve registered aidanfritz.com and switched my email address (particularly for submissions) to use my first name at that domain.

        To use google+, I will need to use a gmail account not associated with my actual email address (for example the email included in the comment). When google implements profiles for google+, I will probably want to switch over since I try not to have personal email go to that address.

    • July 18, 2011 9:41 am

      Thanks. I have a cousin who’s offered to invite me, so if that goes through I won’t need an invite. However, I don’t know if I’ll be able to invite right away if it works out, and my Dear Wife might like an invitation if I can’t. Myself, I kind of view social networks more like an interface than an actual group of people. There are people on the networks, but the program just helps me interface. The best feature, in the past, has been the ability to keep track of people I’ve met – friends, acquaintances and classmates – but whom I’m no longer able to spend much time around. That’s been helpful. But I can see how, as a fellow shy person, the whole idea of it can be overwhelming. I have the same reaction to large parties – I just can’t function at them.

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Progress: Week Ending August 20, 2011 « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

