Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending June 25, 2011

June 27, 2011

I had a fine week of writing last week.  Here are the details:

Story of G:

  • New Draft Wordcount: 1,944
  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 4,499 words

Grand Total: 6,443 words

Awesome! My best writing week yet, since I’ve been tracking these things.  “Story of G” is now well past what I expect to be the halfway point.  I’ve introduced all the characters, and the central conflict is chugging along.  What remains to be resolved: the story is supposed to culminate in a “big reveal”: sort of a twist-ending, I guess.  I’m not sure yet, how to build from here to the big reveal. 

“Book of M”, meanwhile, is slowly, slowly, slowly starting to take shape.  I came to the realization that my timeline for completing a first draft on “Book of M” was too aggressive (and alternately, my timeline for completing a first draft of “Story of G” was too lenient).  So, I reset my “Book of M” deadline from April of 2012 to July of 2012.  We’ll see if the extra three months is sufficient.  And I pushed up “Story of G” from October 2011 to August of 2011.  I think I’ll still beat it.  One or two more writing weeks like this one and it’ll be done.

I think I solved a thorny back-story problem on Book of M.  It involved working out some of the details of the magic system.  And then, in a moment of what I hope was serendipity, I stumbled on a way of tying in this ancient-history backstory with one of the supporting cast characters and the immediate inciting incident that kicks this story off.  Basically, everything in this story happens because of my main character’s reaction to a specific incident – an incident in which one of the supporting cast characters was the main instigator.  If the connection between this supporting character and the ancient-history backstory works well, then it sets up the story for a major reckoning between the main character and the supporting character later in the book…

Wow… that was all vague and meaningless-sounding, wasn’t it?  Should I just use the characters’ names?  That might make things clearer.

Anyway, the whole idea ties in the magic system of the world, which is a core element of the plot, and connects it directly to the characters.    That means the conflict can flow from the characters, more directly, rather than from author-fiat.  That’s a good thing.

I’m still a good distance from ready to start working on a draft of all this.  A lot of what I wrote this past week is in my handwritten notebook.  I need to transfer it to my electronic notes files, and flesh out the ideas a little more fully.  And I definitely want to finish my character write-ups.  So far I have one for the main character and most of one for this supporting cast character.  But I have a co-protagonist I have yet to write a word about, and an anti-hero/contagonist, as well as the villain, and a few other key supporting cast members that need their day in the sun.  So… a lot of work left to do.  That, and also at least a rough outline of the plot still to go.

So, how was your writing week?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 1:23 pm

    Mmm is there a page somewhere that explains all the projects you’re working on? Like a quick reference guide perhaps? *sheepish* the letter acronyms don’t stick with me. I know the Book of M is your steampunkish story. Which one is The book of G?

    I’m done my outline and am ready to start writing the new book now, which probably sounds just as crazy to me as it does to you. LOL There are some bits of research I still need to do, but I think most of it will happen simultaneously to writing.

  2. June 27, 2011 4:29 pm

    Woo! Sounds like a lot of progress has been made on multiple fronts. I love it when those epiphanic moments come to you and the characters and story elements just seem to (finally) click and come together. Getting everything to line up on both logical and emotional levels is challenging!

    As for me, so far I’ve gone through ~22,500 words of my original manuscript and got it down to ~17,500. I also got halfway into editing/rewriting another chapter that was originally just under 5K words, so we’ll see if that goes down much by the time I’m through with it tonight.

    I’m trying to be a more “conscious writer” than when I first wrote the manuscript…and it’s mentally exhausting! lol It’s taken me two weeks to get through about 25K words, so realistically I’ll need another three and a half months to raise the other 175K to the level I’d like it to be at while at the same time shortening it as much as I possibly can. (If I keep up this pattern of dropping 5K for every 25K I could easily cut up to 35K more words, at the least.)

    • June 28, 2011 8:40 am

      That’s a lot of cutting! Being completely conscious of your story as you’re writing it is a challenge. There are a lot of moving parts in a novel-length work, and keeping track of it all can drive a sane writer batty! Although… I guess it takes a certain dose of insanity to actually attempt to write a novel. 😉

      • June 28, 2011 11:43 am

        Seriously.

        I find myself actually having to go through scenes multiple times: once to fix the obvious big stuff that needs fixing (consistency and logical errors in plot, character, setting, whatever) and another run through for line edits, since I’ve changed things around. Sometimes more times, depending on how messed up a scene is, lol. (I’m trying to do the secondary run-throughs on the weekends–it’s less strenuous, more superficial–and reserve the weekdays for the bigger changes, though that doesn’t always happen…)

      • June 28, 2011 12:54 pm

        It’s nice that you’re able to separate your time that way. My weekends are pretty much shot, as far as writing goes. Daytime on weekends is usually family time. By the time my son goes to bed in the evenings, either my Wife and I are desperate to do something together, or else there’s a week’s worth of housework that’s accumulated and needs doing.

      • June 28, 2011 2:18 pm

        Well, it’s only worked out because I’m single…and currently unemployed, lol. Might as well make the most of it!

      • June 28, 2011 3:46 pm

        Ineed, indeed. I wish I’d made the most of my single years, writing-wise. Instead, I let myself get caught in a couple multi-year droughts.

  3. June 27, 2011 4:59 pm

    Sounds like a great week. Keep up the great work. I’m about half-way done with my new short story based on the object exercise. For the past couple of days thouh, it has really given me a headache, and nothing will come to the page. *sigh* I guess my brain just needed a rest.

    • June 28, 2011 8:42 am

      Yep, it was a great week for writing last week. This week probably won’t be nearly so productive. Keep up the good work on your story… I’m sure you’ll catch your second wind and make it through to the end.

Leave a Reply

