Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending June 11, 2011

June 12, 2011

Yep, still writing.  Although, this week largely failed, in the face of the challenge I face, alluded to here and here.  Soon… that will no longer be a problem.  (I’m in the home stretch!)

Story of G:

  • New Draft Wordcount: 0
  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 1,642

Project SOA:  (Yes, that’s right.  It’s not in active development, but that doesn’t mean I don’t write stuff about it when good ideas occur to me.)

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 478

Idea Notebook: (New ideas often go here, first, before they become a full-fledged project; alternately, I’ll write something in one of the above projects here, and count it as “Idea Notebook” wordcount until I transfer it to an electronic format, in which case I’ll reclassify at that time.)

  • Wordcount: 994

Grand Total: 3,114 words

Well, that’s not so bad.  Compared to last week’s 1,700 words.  And compared to drowning in a book I can’t put down.  I can’t complain.

Add to that something my wordcount tracker can’t track, but which is just as important a milestone in my writing development: I drew a map for “Book of M” of the region the story takes place in (actually of the whole continent).  It’s not a finished map, in the sense that there’s only a few places named on the map – but then again, those are the main locations in the story, so that’s still a pretty good job.

Still… I had a sobering moment in all this as well.  Using my Writing Project Progress Wordcount Tracker (the problem with which I fixed, incidentally, but haven’t uploaded yet), I got this little gem, regarding the Book of M: “At this rate, it looks like you will finish your draft around February 24, 2019.”  Really?  Gee, thanks.  That’s…. encouraging.  The truth is, though, I’m putting out an average of about 100 words per day (up to almost 300 this past week) on this project… whereas I need to be writing almost a thousand words per day if I want to finish this project by April of 2012.  Methinks I may need to set a slightly more realistic goal… and methinks I also need to be writing a little more vigorously.

So, how was your writing week?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 11:15 am

    I’m not sure how many words I wrote in background notes. Probably ~1200. Writing word wise: ~ 100 words.

    I’m not really tracking things yet. I’ve been doing a lot of brainstorming and trying to get the plot hashed out first, which is different from my approach with the last novel.

    • June 13, 2011 11:22 am

      Early stages, yet, but gearing up for the next book, eh? I’ll be interested to learn more about your perspective on the difference between your new approach and that which you used in your previous book, as you go along and gain a better feel for the difference.

Trackbacks

  1. Beginning with a Map « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

