Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending June 4, 2011

June 5, 2011

So this is the big idea I had, in answer to the question I originally posed here.  Which is: how should I report on my writing progress?  Well, I’m not up to doing it daily.  So, I’m going to try to manage this weekly.

What I’ll be doing, then, is at the end of each week I’ll be posting up my stats for that week, with regard to how much writing I did in the week that just ended.  To help me achieve this goal, I’m using my new Writing Project Progress Tracker.  One feature I included on the WPPT was the ability to create a custom date-range to see stats specific to that range.  Adding that feature was geared toward the ideas I had for this weekly post.  Each week, I could just put in the date range for the most recent week, and it would spit out my stats for that week.

And of course… now that I try to use my brand new shiny tool… I discover that this feature is, instead, a glitch.  One that I’m going to have to dig into and iron out.  But hey, I knew the darn thing wouldn’t be perfect until I’d put it through it’s paces.  Of course, I did a lot of error-checking along the way, but in this case it’s not so much a calculation error as it is a logic error, and I only now spotted the logical problem.  Well, you live and learn… you live and learn.  So, expect a new version in a week or two or three, that fixes this error…

Well, without further ado, here are those stats:

Story of G:

  • New Draft Wordcount: 1,094
  • Background Notes Wordcount: 476

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 164

Grand Total: 1,734  words

Hmm.  Methinks I could be a tad more prolific.  That’s comes to about 250 words per day.  Though, there were several non-writing days in that lineup.  To give myself a bit of a break, this was only my second full week of actually trying to sit down most nights to write, and I’m not quite in the swing of things yet.  To provide a bit of comparison, here’s the total from the previous week: 784 words.  So, you know, it’s an improvement.  We’ll see if we can’t do that one better next week, shall we?

So, how was your writing week?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 5:20 pm

    My writing weekend was very successful. I completed a Novella that I have been working on for about two months. It is rather longer then I feel it needs to be, so I will be trimming some of the fat off throughout the coming week.

    Word progress is all relative. I strive for 5k a week. Sometimes I go above and beyond. My biggest day being a 16 hour 15k word button smash-a-thon, my worse being one word with a blinking cursor for 4 hours.

    Then again I have a fairly stable routine. Up until that point I found trying to map progress a little daunting. Instead I have focused on the story and the rest fell into place.

    • June 6, 2011 8:49 am

      Congratulations on the achievement! There’s no good feeling like the one you get when you finish a writing project!

  2. June 5, 2011 5:37 pm

    No writing, but editing! And you probably know how that went by now, if not, check your email 🙂

    You’re working on both novels at once? Sounds daunting to me!

    1734 words is nothing to feel guilty about. Its progress. It takes a while to get into the rhythm of things. At my usual speed I can do about 1k a day of new words (if I have outlined & planned already) and write about 6 days a week. Editing varies greatly. This last round took more than a month, while the one before took only ~18 days.

    Good luck!

    • June 6, 2011 9:24 am

      I did get the e-mail. I’m excited! I acccess the internet/e-mail pretty sporadically over the weekend (weekends are mostly family time), so I haven’t actually looked at it yet. I’m not actively working on multiple books – Book of M is the only book I’m doing active work for. Story of G is a short story – ostensibly my next entry in a certain writing contest. (I expect to have to enter it several more times before I strike paydirt… if I strike paydirt (and I intend to).) I figure throughout the time I spend working on Book of M I’ll churn out two or three or four more short stories… I will say I am a little embarrassed by 1,734 words for a week, but I figure I’m still building up to something like a regular level of productivity. I hope to really get the gears cranking soon. 2,500 would be a reasonable goal that wouldn’t embarrass me; 5,000 would make me feel like I was being truly productive.

  3. June 6, 2011 4:24 pm

    ~2500 words over three writing days on the first draft of my epic fantasy novel. This was the end to a six week slump where I managed only 1500 in entire weeks. In other words, I was writing sporadically then, and daily now. It’s a better place to be.

    • June 6, 2011 4:30 pm

      Agreed: regular writing is a better place to be. I’m going into Week 3 of trying for regular writing hours. I’m hoping that the more I do this the better I’m going to get at output.

Trackbacks

  1. Off Topic: The Ideal Fantasy Strategy Game « The Undiscovered Author
  2. Writing Progress: Week Ending June 11, 2011 « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

