Skip to content

Drumroll Please…

May 2, 2011

Today, everything changes.  Well, not everything

But I cross a threshold today.  Today I am not merely a writer.  I am not merely an aspiring author.  Today I am an author – an honest-to-goodness published author.

Fantasy Magazine May 2011 - Issue 50

Fantasy Magazine May 2011 - Issue 50

My piece, titled “Now Hiring in the Airship Lounge: Fantasy Archetypes Get Steampunked” appears today in Fantasy Magazine

I can’t even tell you how excited I am to share this news.  Obviously, I’ve been sitting on it for a while (for a lot longer than a week), but I didn’t want to say anything until I had something to show for it.  But now it’s here, and I’m letting the cat out of the bag at last.

My article, as you can guess by the title, isn’t a story: it’s nonfiction.  But as is also probably clear, it’s nonfiction of a sort that’s right up my alley, as a writer of fantasy and speculative fiction.  It’s a great little piece on the relationship between character archetypes in Fantasy and Steampunk fiction.  If either genre is of interest to you, you should check it out!

Fantasy Magazine is an online magazine dedicated to fantasy fiction, in the broadest sense.  They publish stories of a variety of different fantastic types, making them available online  for free periodically throughout the month and in an ebook format available for purchase at the beginning of the month.  And, obviously, they publish fantasy-related nonfiction as well.  Of which my article is one.

And thus beginneth my reign of terror.  Today, a short article on the subject of Steampunk archetypes on Fantasy-Magazine.com… tomorrow, the world!  Mwa-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! [Insert evil steepling of fingers and evil petting of my evil dog Shasta here.] You poor fools. There’s nothing to stop me now!

Ahem.

So, I hope you go and check out Fantasy Magazine – and particularly my article and the story it is paired with (Genevieve Valentine’s “Study, for Solo Piano”).

31 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 8:28 am

    GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!

    Thats incredible!!!

    That’s amazing!

    Stupendous!

    Fantastic…

    AAAAAAAAAHHHHH (Groupie superfan scream here)

    Congratulations!!!! 😀

    • May 2, 2011 8:34 am

      Sorry, but you’ll have to take a number. I’m statutorily not permitted to accept any superfans yet – I have to write a New York Times Bestseller before I’m permitted to have any superfans. And considering how hard that is, I don’t think I’ll be allowed any superfans any time soon… And thanks! 😀

      • May 3, 2011 8:39 am

        What, no superfans? Fail. Guess I’ll have to be an inferior fan.

        aaaaaaaaaaa. (Significantly quieter groupie non-superfan scream)

      • May 3, 2011 8:46 am

        Sorry, I don’t make the rules. I’m supposed to do something really, really, very superfantastic awesome cool before I’m allowed to have superfans… but as cool as getting published is, at this stage it’s just pretty darn cool, and does not rise to the level required to start acquiring superfans. 😛

      • May 3, 2011 9:03 am

        You know, I must say, reading your article (which was very thorough BTW…) really inspired me to get something (anything) published. I think I’m going to go write something now………

      • May 3, 2011 9:06 am

        Good luck!

  2. BT's mama permalink
    May 2, 2011 8:35 am

    Congrat’s DH. I’m so happy for you. =)

  3. Your Grandma permalink
    May 2, 2011 10:01 am

    I’m really proud of you. and LOVE always

  4. May 2, 2011 10:17 am

    ROUND OF APPLAUSE AND STANDING OVATION…

  5. May 2, 2011 12:01 pm

    That’s awesome–congratulations! Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

    • May 2, 2011 12:08 pm

      Thanks!

      • May 2, 2011 12:40 pm

        Just read the article: it’s fantastic! I think I’m even using some variants of those archetypes you mention.

        Love, love, and more love! Thanks for writing and sharing.

      • May 2, 2011 12:48 pm

        Great, I’m glad you found it enjoyable. I’ve got to give a lot of props, though, to the editor on this one: Esther Inglis-Arkell. She made a lot of suggestions for improvement that worked out fantastically.

  6. May 2, 2011 12:01 pm

    OHH So that’s where the article you sent me was going to go! Awesome venue too!!! Congratulations!

    • May 2, 2011 12:09 pm

      Thanks, that is indeed it. And I appreciate you having the time to give me feedback on an early draft. It was very helpful. (As you can see, there were a lot of changes from that first draft.)

      • May 3, 2011 11:36 am

        It’s much better now 🙂 Great editing job on this piece.

      • May 3, 2011 11:50 am

        As mentioned above: first came the help of beta readers like yourself and @lynnoliver, and secondly and most especially to the editor at Fantasy: Esther Inglis-Arkell, who had a lot of great suggestions that really polished the article up. (The headings are all editorial additions as well. I considered headings initially but wasn’t sure how best to go about it, but the headings in the final version are awesome and just tickled me.)

  7. May 2, 2011 7:58 pm

    Congratulations! Your articles on writing & archetypes are always well-written and enjoyable.

  8. May 2, 2011 8:54 pm

    Congratulations Superstar!

    Alas, we will now be mere pions and you will say “Kneel before Watkins!”

  9. May 31, 2011 4:47 pm

    Hey well done you! Do you like beer? Go get yourself a celebratory beer if you haven’t done so already. If you don’t like beer then choose from any of these substitutes: cider, whisky, port, prosecco, rum, pimms . I don’t do cocktails.

    • May 31, 2011 5:02 pm

      Heh, thanks! My dirty little secret, I’m afraid, is that I’m a teetotaler. Don’t ask me how I managed to survive a trip to Ireland without offending the entire island nation, but I muddled through somehow…

Trackbacks

  1. Published! « Stephen Watkins, Writer
  2. Humility vs. Naricissism: FIGHT! « The Undiscovered Author
  3. Sophomore Blues « The Undiscovered Author
  4. The WordPress 2011 Year In Review Post « The Undiscovered Author
  5. This Is Not Writing Advice « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

