Skip to content

Writing Projects and the Secrecy Thereof

March 30, 2011

It’s been a slow month for updates around these parts, lately.  It was now a month ago when I first heaved-ho for farther shores on my recent class trip, and I’ve only covered the first few days of the trip in blogging about it…  Certainly, various factors have conspired to keep me away from the keyboard of late, insofar as my blog is concerned.  Among these, of course, are the usual suspects (which are even more usual and suspect than usual): work, school, et al.  But I would be remiss in pinning all of the blame on these (even if it ought to be the majority of it… ahh, lunch-hours spent happily blogging away, how do I miss thee).  The truth of it is, even what little writing time I have had has largely been spent working on something else.

That is, I have had a “Secret Project”.

This being a writer’s blog, my mentioning of a “secret project” will immediately lead you to the conclusion that I have been writing something, but do not feel at liberty to discuss the details as yet because they have not been finalized.  That may be somewhat true-ish.  At this point, it’s done (and I can no longer claim it as an excuse), but I have chosen not to reveal everything at this time. 

But, as writers’ secret projects go, in the grander scheme of things, you may find this one a bit underwhelming.  It’s significant to me, because it means I’ve been writing, and except for this blog, I don’t often have time to do that.  And it’s significant for me for other reasons, as well. 

Suffice to say, however, that in the fullness of time all will be revealed – but for now, though I’m done writing it, I have a “Secret Project”.  Hurrah!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 2:12 pm

    Oh now you have me wondering! Is it a big months long project, or something less intensive? Nothing makes me more curious than a big announcement of a “secret project”.

    • March 30, 2011 2:16 pm

      Ah, sorry to underwhelm you. It was something much, much, much, much less intensive (i.e it consumed me over a period of a week-and-a-half to two-weeks or so – or consumed me as much as it could given the other time obligations I still have). When I make my big reveal, it may have a hint of familiarity… I just kind of wanted to explain part of why I’ve been so slow in blogging lately, those other factors notwithstanding.

    • March 30, 2011 2:21 pm

      Also… I just saw someone else’s comment on another blog about how fast you’re able to hit a new blog post with a comment. You’ve got everything in a feed reader and you hit refresh like once a minute or something, don’t you? 😉

      Maybe I really should try a feed reader…

      • March 30, 2011 4:37 pm

        Yup it’s the feed reader. It automatically refreshes every few minutes (3 minutes maybe?). I blame Google. LOL You should try it out. Sure beats typing in url’s all the time.

      • March 30, 2011 4:40 pm

        Yeah, I don’t type in URLs, though. That’s why my link list is so insufferably long… I just hit my blog and link from there.

  2. March 30, 2011 6:27 pm

    Wow…that made my head hurt. LOL

    I am glad that through the busyness of life you were able to recreate a super secret project of super secretness. Now in order to get access to this super secret project, does my DC decoder ring count?

    • March 30, 2011 8:06 pm

      Oh it’s not super secret. It’s just the regular kind of secret. You know, if I told you, I wouldn’t have to kill you, really. I’d just have to maim you horribly. 🙂 That kind of secret. But if you have a decoder ring… well… that entitles you to the knowing of all kinds of secets, doesn’t it?

  3. March 30, 2011 11:34 pm

    Congratulations on the accomplishments of writing!

    • March 31, 2011 9:07 am

      Thanks… but don’t congratulate me yet… The part where congratulations are in order remains yet to be seen. But at least I was writing, even if just a little. That’s worth an emoticon! 😀

  4. March 31, 2011 3:42 pm

    I think every author, aspiring or otherwise, needs to have a secret project to pleasantly surprise readers and fans alike when the secret project is ready for the reveal. This is fun for the author, and add texture to a writer’s growing community.

    • March 31, 2011 3:42 pm

      Notice how I didn’t ask anything at all about your secret project? :-)>

    • March 31, 2011 3:45 pm

      Indeed. I always get this thrill of curiosity whenever I read on another author’s site when they announce they’re working on a secret project. It’s like a mystery you want to solve…

Trackbacks

  1. Convention, Convocation, Conference & Me « The Undiscovered Author
  2. Drumroll Please… « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

