Skip to content

Castles in our Midst

February 21, 2011
tags:

So, recently I made mention of the castle in my neighborhood, which I and Dear Wife and Shasta the dog sometimes walk by on our perambulations.

And now I can show you.  I just wanted to share.

My local neighborhood "Castle"

My local neighborhood "Castle"

 

You can see from this why it might be called, around these parts, the “Sand Castle”.  If you look closely on the tower, or the other parts beyond the crenelated wall and courtyard, you can see the rough texture of the strange sandstone or sandstone-like material used.  Basically, the texture doesn’t look quite right for a “true” castle.   But you’ve got to give whoever built this kudos for having the guts to make their home into a castle!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 12:06 pm

    Wow that is a castle! I wonder what it looks like inside? It would be a fun contrast if was all slick and contemporary, or even comfy country style, but can’t help imagining a four posted canopied bed in there somewhere.

    • February 21, 2011 12:21 pm

      I wonder all the time, too. But unless it goes on sale or otherwise there’s an Open House, I don’t imagine I’ll be finding out. But it’s fun to imagine. I always figure… if I ever own or build my own castle (Dear Wife is not enthusiastic about that idea; it’s not an architectural style she loves) there would probably be a certainly castle-like quality to the interior – except that I’d have it completel wired for modern conveniences (wifi throughout, an inter-castle videocom, mood lighting and mood music throughout, etc). This, of course, a fantasy. But I’m a fantasy writer, so I’m entitled to my little fantasies. 🙂

  2. February 21, 2011 12:15 pm

    Very interesting indeed. You don’t see that every day.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

  3. February 21, 2011 5:54 pm

    Wow, what an epic and unique thing to have a castle in one’s neighborhood…I don’t. (Guess that’s what makes it unique)

    • February 22, 2011 8:51 am

      I suppose so… It probably helps that there’s no HOA making rules here. And that it’s a very old neighborhood.

      • February 22, 2011 10:48 am

        Ah, HOA’s can be rather frustrating for creatives, eh what?

      • February 22, 2011 11:02 am

        Dear Wife and I had an interesting debate about HOAs, recently… Concluded there’s good and there’s bad to them. The bad mostly depends on whether you get a super-nosy neighbor or not.

      • Rhododendron permalink
        February 22, 2011 8:45 pm

        😀 “Hey, the crazy writer man next door is building a turret, and it’s going to impair my social life…can we do something about this?…”

      • February 22, 2011 11:01 pm

        Exactly.

  4. February 21, 2011 10:02 pm

    I like the blue’s you captured in that picture. It is an interesting style that feels understated enough that I could see it in a suburb.

    I knew of two people who had castles and been inside them. One in Tennessee hosts the Middle Tennessee RenFaire. It erred on being too close to actual castles in my book and therefore not someplace I’d want to live. The second was in Turlock, CA where a vet who was big in the SCA built a castle tower on their land. (They also hold huge spring/fall SCA events there and I’ve been paid as an entertainer for them).

    • February 22, 2011 9:31 am

      Well, in the interest of full disclosure, credit for the picture goes to Dear Wife, who snapped this on our walk because the camera in my phone was acting up. (Not sure what was going on, but it told me to reset the phone to fix the camera, and I didn’t have the time right then.) That’s cool that those folks open up their home for events like that. What sort of thing do you do as an entertainer at an SCA event?

      • February 23, 2011 12:32 am

        I danced. Other performers they have had included a gypsy band, a Punch & Judy show, and a storyteller. I’ll have to blog about the storyteller at some point, since I’ve never been around anyone who told as good of oral stories.

        There were usually several hundred people at the event. They held bicycle jousts as well as fencing, archery, etc.

      • February 23, 2011 8:40 am

        Ah, fun. Bicycle joust – how very Connecticut Yankee :). And yes, do so blog.

      • February 23, 2011 8:42 am

        Bicycle jousting!!! :-0 How creative (and sounds dangerous)!

Leave a Reply

