Skip to content

Every Ending is a Beginning

December 11, 2010

Yesterday was the last day of the Fall semester for me, the day when my final project and exam were handed in.  Yeah, so you’d think with a title like that I’d be talking about writing stories.

But no, the punchline is that today was the first day of a new mini-semester we call an “ACE” class.  These are little one-class-at-a-time deals that occur in the month-long period between semesters where we go for three weeks, two normal class-days a week plus Saturdays.  The topic of this class is one where I am sorely in need of improvement (the course has “networks” in the title, and it’s not a computer science course, if you know what I mean).

So, what did I do with a whole evening’s break?  Why, go with Dear Wife and some other family members to see Trans-Siberian Orchestra in concert, of course.  It’s the Christmas season, so it’s the time of year when you break out that kind of music.  But I’d been so sleep-deprived from some extremely late nights this past week that we ended up not staying for the whole thing; the better to beat the crowd out and get home so I could crash (and Dear Wife was tired, too).  Last night was the first full night of sleep I’ve had in a while.

And now, I’m back in the saddle.

The good news?  I can really and true just make out the light at the end of the tunnel.  Five months.  Just five months.  At the same time… I can’t help but recall it was a year ago when I started work, in earnest, on that short story referenced in the side-bar (“PFTETD”), rewriting vast sections of it, adding new characters, and changing the direction of the story somewhat, in anticipation of sending it out with an eye toward its hopeful publication.  It ended up taking me a little longer than what free time I had during the semester break (I didn’t take an ACE last year), but I did finish it and I did get it out.   It was only shortly before that that I started blogging.   It’s interesting to look back over that year.

Anyway, I’m just relieved.  This past semester has been one of the most challenging and demanding, time-wise, that I’ve had so far.  I’m glad I’ll only be taking one class in the coming Spring Semester.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 9:14 pm

    Hope the next semester is a little bit less stressful than this one. 5 more months! That will fly by in the blink of an eye.

    • December 11, 2010 9:30 pm

      That’s what I’m hoping! Though, a part of me is second-guessing my decision to sign up for one of the hardest courses in the school in Spring. But it has the potential to be so useful to me in my career, I felt like I had to take it! At least it will be the only one.

  2. December 12, 2010 3:38 pm

    Ah brave soul to be taking courses during your one-month break!!! 😀 My breaks are too valuable for me to do something like that.

    Well, well wishes and blessings to you in this endeavor…and five months, five months, keep repeating that to yourself, cuz soon you will be able to say, four months, four months…three months…two months…one month…

    • December 12, 2010 3:41 pm

      Not Brave… desperate to be done. One class left in Spring sounds better than two, and easier to handle. So… take one now, bite the bullet, and be that much closer.

      • December 12, 2010 9:06 pm

        😀 I suppose it lies in values. Would I rather take a course during a break, to lessen up on coursework in my next semester? But I wouldn’t have my full break to fully recuperate? I guess it would make more sense that way in the long run. It would be a one-month class and one four month class, as opposed to two four-month classes.

      • December 12, 2010 9:47 pm

        Something like that, exactly. When you’re this close to the home stretch, you’re just ready for it to be over.

  3. BT's mama permalink
    December 13, 2010 3:41 pm

    A tad bit of pressure from his wife who desperately wants her husband to be done with school so they have more time together may also be a factor….

    • December 13, 2010 3:48 pm

      Dear Wife’s desires definitely factor into my decision-making process! In fact, it’s often a critical component of my calculation. 😛

  4. December 14, 2010 1:25 am

    My sister had an ACE class when she went to school. She did fun things with hers like visit the Louvre and biology with an expedition to Costa Rica. Good luck with your “networks”. I’m biased (I was one of the two profs who taught the hardest classes in my dept.), but I would commend you on picking the harder class; especially if you have the time for it and it looks like it may benefit your career.

    • December 15, 2010 9:49 am

      Nothing quite so adventurous in our ACE classes – well, at least not during this part of the year. Recently, the school changed up the May ACE term to be study-abroad-only options – but such as I am far too destitute to participate in that sort of thing unless I absolutely have to (turns out I will absolutely have to go abroad for at least a short time as part of my time here, but that’s another issue). I’ve always been one to seek out more challenging academic course-work; it’s part of who I am. What subject, may I ask, do you typically teach in?

      • December 16, 2010 3:37 pm

        I think the hardest time about going abroad is managing the two-body problem (in your case three). I wish you the best of luck with it, because I’ve found my nibbles of abroad-ness eye-opening and life changing.

        Ironically, I taught that other type of networks course (and Operating systems). I liked asking students to complete “simple” projects like implementing TCP and peer-to-peer file-sharing programs. (Nowadays I’d have them write Facebook/twitter 😉

      • December 16, 2010 4:26 pm

        I’ve been abroad before (multiple times, actually (with “multiple times” taking a value that can be counted on two or three fingers depending on how you count it), though some of that was a young’un whilst my dad was in the military). I look forward to adding new countries to my list. In my undergrad I was a computer science minor (though I never took a course in that kind of “network”) – but I never did anything with it, and I’ve since lost pretty much everything except the logical framework that was built. We learned using Java, and I also picked up a class on Visual Basic, but nowadays I couldn’t much write a “hello world” without a lot of trouble. In theory, though, I could take a book on some computer language or another and at least pick it up enough to do just that (needing such a book and a few examples to parse being the trouble mentioned in the prior sentance).

Trackbacks

  1. A Small World, Betimes… « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

