Skip to content

Tidbits of Inspiration: Stone Money

December 10, 2010

So, I heard something interesting today while driving in the car.  And, as I thought about this story I heard, it made me think about how, every once in a while, I run across something unusual or interesting or bizarre or inspiring in the world, on the web, in the news, and elsewhere that make me think, and make me wonder.  The sorts of things that can inspire little bits of story.  I don’t always know what to make of them.  But, I realized I should be sharing them….

So, today is my first “Tidbits of Inspiration” post, a new irregular “feature” where I will occassionally post a link to some inspiring or interesting story or item of interest.  Today the fun kicks off with a link to this fun and fascinating story on NPR about “The Island of Stone Money“.

This wasn’t the first time I’d heard of the island of Yap, told of in this story.  But it’s been a few years since last I contemplated their stone money.  Listening to this story reminded me of the wonderful variety and strangeness than can occur in human cultures across the world.  We tend to come up with all sorts of unusual things… and it’s fascinating.

Hearing that story made me want to tell a tale that in a land that had an unusual and surprising culture, something unique and fun.

If you click that link to see the story, I suggest you listen to it rather than read it.  There’s some amusing back-and-forth in the audio version that you won’t get in the written version (I know, I read it).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 4:52 am

    That is a genuinely thought provoking tale that I’d never heard of before – I look forward to reading what you do with it!

    • December 19, 2010 6:32 pm

      It’ll take some time for this to simmer in the back of my mind – and probably another random idea or two to collide with it, before I’ll be able generate anything concrete with this. But it’s an ingredient in something, I’m sure.

  2. December 19, 2010 5:31 pm

    Interesting! Glad you posted the link to this.

Leave a Reply

