Skip to content

17 Days and Counting

December 8, 2010

I have a special treat for you all today, a guest post!  I’ve mentioned her here before, but the illustrious Dear Wife would like to address your attention today.  So, without further ado, I’ll turn you over to her:

It’s less than three weeks until Christmas, which means that I’m scrambling to write a Christmas letter and print cards for our friends and family.  This year, I plan to print our photo cards at www.shutterfly.com.  We used Shutterfly to print BT’s birth announcements earlier this year and they turned out wonderful!  We recently had some amazing family photos taken by a friend and I can’t wait to show off BTs cuteness and our growing little family in our Christmas cards from Shutterfly.
 
I love Shutterfly’s Christmas photo card (http://www.shutterfly.com/cards-stationery/christmas-photo-cards) and other holiday photo card (http://www.shutterfly.com/cards-stationery) designs for this year.  Also, now that I have oodles of cute baby pictures, I’m considering using Shutterfly to create a calendar (http://www.shutterfly.com/calendars) with some of my favorite photos.  I’m also eying some of the other photo gifts contemplating which I like most.
 
Back to our Christmas card – each year we’ve been married I’ve written a letter updating family and friends on the big happenings in our family during the year and mailed off the letter, a photo card, and brief personal notes to our friends and family.  It’s also a nice way to briefly document our year and I’ve been saving a letter and photocard each year and plan to put them in a scrapbook.  It will be nice to be able to flip through to see how our family has changed. 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. BT's mama permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:09 am

    ps from Dear Wife — Any other bloggers out there that are Shutterfly fans, you can get 50 FREE spiffy photocards from Shutterfly by blogging about your love of Shutterfly. They really do have great quality cards. More details at: http://blog.shutterfly.com/5358/holiday2010-blog-submission-form/
    Deadline for expressing interest is Friday 12/10.

  2. December 8, 2010 9:16 am

    Thanks for dropping in to enlighten us, DW! Nice to see you around these parts! And it sounds like you nailed those 50 free postcards… lol

    • BT's mama permalink
      December 8, 2010 3:38 pm

      Now if only I can get them and mail them out to arrive in time for Christmas! BT is likely to make that challenging.

      • December 8, 2010 11:52 pm

        Youngsters do like to make life a little more interesting.

  3. December 8, 2010 12:12 pm

    Ahh! Good to know. I haven’t tried shutterfly before, but for the last 3 years, we’ve been making photo books for our parents with Blurb (turned out fantastic!), because they’ll never look at the digital photos again if we don’t print them. LOL

    Thanks for the recommendation BT’s mama!

    • BT's mama permalink
      December 8, 2010 3:43 pm

      Photobooks are great, but I’ve found it can take an awful lot of time to make them between picking pictures and a layout and coming up with captions. I have big plans to make more someday though. I saw something interesting recently where you can have your blog printed essentially as a photo book with text. I have a private family blog — primarily about BT for the grandparents — that I think would be cool to turn into a photobook chronicling his first year. Particularly since I’ve hardly filled out a page in his baby book — doh.

      • December 8, 2010 3:59 pm

        It didn’t help that we lost it for like three months!

      • December 8, 2010 11:54 pm

        Ooh, turning a blog into a book? That sounds like a nice idea! Once I (LORD willing) become a famous author, maybe the House of Happy can go to print…

      • December 9, 2010 12:32 am

        Well…I think it’s a photo-book (i.e. the pictures from your blog). And it’s not like a book you find in a bookstore – more like the kind where you pay for each printed copy you want, and that’s all that ever gets printed. Like a keepsake. At least, that’s my understanding.

      • BT's mama permalink
        December 9, 2010 1:01 pm

        Indeed — they basically take all the text/photos from your blog and put it into a bit photobook type thing. Then you can go through and delete pieces you don’t want and shuffle them around and whatnot.

      • December 9, 2010 10:41 pm

        Well still, photos or no photos, turning a blog into a book would be a good idea nonetheless.

  4. December 9, 2010 11:33 am

    I’ve just joined Zazzle and will be issuing the Happiness is… cards soon… maybe even a calendar… and all those other goodies… don’t they all look good?
    Have a BT-mug! 😀 http://www.zazzle.com
    Happy “card-ing”!

    • December 10, 2010 9:50 am

      Interesting site. I discovered some very amusing Star Wars-themed designs there…

      • December 10, 2010 11:49 am

        Isn’t it great? I had no idea you could customize all that stuff! 😀

      • December 10, 2010 12:49 pm

        I was familiar with sites like this in the past, such as Cafe Press, but I’ve never had a need to use their services, nor have I been enamored enough of the customized products of others to make a purchase. Although, I have kind of long wanted a “+1 Shirt”.

Leave a Reply

