Skip to content

Giving Thanks

November 25, 2010

For those of you in the U.S., you will most probably be spending the day with your families celebrating our annual commencement of the college football bowl season.  I, myself, have no interest in football, but I will be with my family today observing a holiday which, in the U.S., happens bizarrely to coincide with the aforementioned football-related event.  I speak, of course, of Thanksgiving.  To which, I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving.

I won’t regale you here with tales of dread winters, Pilgrims, and Wampanoags, nor of Turkeys Past.  But, as is somewhat traditional, I shall endeavor to list the things for which I am grateful this year:

  1. My Dear Wife and my wonderful son, B.T.  I don’t always express my appreciation as fully as I should.  But you should know that I love you both.
  2. The opportunity to live in a  free and democratic nation.  It’s not perfect (this nation), by any means, but it has a lot going for it.  But I am so very glad to live in a place and time when I am relatively free to pursue my own destiny and make the most of my life.
  3. Education.  I’m in school, getting ever-so-closer to my graduation day when I earn my Sheepskin Second Class (i.e. the MBA).  And I am so ready to be done.  But I am so very lucky to have had the opportunity to learn more and advance myself.
  4. Good food, good friends, good family.  Though not in that order.  I love my family, and am grateful to be able to spend this holiday with them.  Not just my Dear Wife and son, but my parents and siblings and nieces and nephews as well (my wife says they are called “nildren”).  What’s more, I’m very lucky to be able to say that through my wife I am now connected to another wonderful family who I am likewise always happy to visit or have over to visit.  On this Thanksgiving day, I am thankful for all of them.
  5. My Home.  It’s small – some might say cozy.  But it’s very nice.  It was precisely what Dear Wife and I needed at the time.  And I am grateful each day to go home to it, and to those who dwell there with me.
  6. The opportunity and the will to write.  Writing time is scarce these days, but it will not long be so.  I’ve always loved writing stories, since the earliest days of my childhood.  I still love it, and frankly can’t go long without taking the chance to sit and write.  And I’m always glad that this is a part of who I am.  I’d rather be a writer than any other kind of crazy.
  7. Applebutter.
  8. Chocolate.
  9. Excellent books and other forms of entertainment in the various Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Speculative genres.  I don’t have much time to enjoy it all, right now.  But things will ease up soon, and I shall enjoy it all with much gusto when things do.
  10. All of you.  I’m grateful for you, the readers of my blog.  Someday, I hope to be published.  When that day comes, I hope you’ll all stick with me.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 11:02 am

    Happy thanksgiving Stephen!

    I agree with #8 & #10 especially! Yay for bloggers, brave pioneers and comrades of the internet world!!!

  2. November 25, 2010 11:25 am

    Applebutter? Why have I never heard of such a delicious treat. I must find some ASAP!

    That’s a good list of things to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • November 26, 2010 8:43 pm

      Indeed you must. Good luck finding some, though. At least down here it’s getting more and more rare on grocery store shelves. Maybe you’ll have better luck in Canada. However, if you have a chance to get out of the city into the countryside, you’ll probably stand a good chance picking some up at a country farmer’s market. Or, if you can find a nearby apple orchard, they’ll be certain to have some.

  3. marjorie permalink
    November 29, 2010 4:09 am

    I’m not American but I’m giving thanks anyway for having you, Stephen, as still one of my all-time favorite bloggers.
    I agree that you should be thankful for living in the best nation on this planet coz yeah, I do love America.
    And I like good books, and writing, and urm, chocolates as well.
    So I’m sticking with you as a reader, for better or worse..
    May you continue having dozens and dozens of happy thanksgiving with your family and loved ones.

    • November 29, 2010 4:36 pm

      Thanks! And I’m glad you’ve kept reading! On America: I’m grateful to have a number of readers/friends/fellow bloggers here from several other countries. It’s pretty gratifying to be part of a global community like that. I do think pretty highly of my own country, but I try not to glorify it too much, because I know we’ve made some missteps, as a nation, and I know the peculiar American sense of national pride can turn off some folks in other countries (especially, I suspect, in other democratic countries that have as much to be proud of as well). So I’m grateful to live in a time when that sort of self-determination is so prevalent for some many people.

  4. December 1, 2010 12:56 am

    Great list of thankful things. My sambo made citrus pear butter for christmas gifts this year. Outside of the 25kg of pears haunting us for a week it all went well.

    • December 1, 2010 10:49 am

      Hmm. That sounds interesting, I must say. What constitutes citrus pear butter?

      • December 1, 2010 11:01 pm

        Mostly pears, cooked down with a slice or two of orange & lemon and spiced with cinnamon, cloves, cardamon, and allspice.

      • December 1, 2010 11:02 pm

        I just know Dear Wife is going to want to try this…

Trackbacks

  1. Giving Thanks « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

