Skip to content

A Halloween Treat

October 25, 2010

So, I’m still fillling in temporarily over on Serial Central, but I decided to offer a little Halloween Treat… What I’ve posted there today isn’t a reprint of a story I’ve already posted here, but a brand-new tale set in the same world as one of the earlier stories posted there.

The story is themed for Halloween, so it should be fun!

But, I’ll be honest… I didn’t have a lot of time to write this story.  Other things are still, unfortunately, much higher on my priority list right now (and will remain so for the foreseeable future), so those things come first.  Consequently… this story is not quite up to the quality standards I usually set for what I write.  In the nomenclature I use on my Stories & Scribblings page, this one is a “C-”.

At this point in my blogging career – I’d rather not even post a story that hit’s a “C” grade on my own quality standards… but at the same time, right now, that means I’d not be posting stories at all, because I don’t quite have the time to scrub my ideas and my prose to get it up to quality level.  Still, I hope you’ll check it out, and that you’ll enjoy it.  It’s the first of three relatively short pieces under the title:

“On the Night When the Spirits of the Dead are Unsettled in their Graves”

Maybe that got your attention.  And maybe this as well: my prose may not have been up to spec… but I  had some great little ideas peppered about in this piece that riff off some very Halloween-like concepts.  Enjoy…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 12:51 am

    I’m going to cheat and ask here. You’ve turned off comments on your Stories & Scribblings page. I was curious how you come at grades. The reason I ask is that my self-assessment of stories changes over time. You could argue that it’s because I find I improve my craft; or more realistically is that I see more aspects that I critically assess about the story which leads older stories to have depreciating grades.

    • October 27, 2010 8:50 am

      Well, it’d definitely not scientific in any way. Basically, I would classify an “A” grade as something that reaches the fullness of my potential as a writer – something that I consider really good, and genuinely, professionally publishable. Grades in the “B” range, which covers most of what I’ve posted here, are stories that are good or interesting, in my opinion, but which lack some critical component or have some primary flaw that would leave it unpublishable as-is, but which could be rewritten or otherwise improved upon to make it publishable. Grades in the “C” range have many positive attributes, but also many serious flaws. Those flaws could be stylistic or structural, problems with plot or characterization, and so on. These would require a major rewrite to improve upon them. Anything below that is something that’s essentially unsalvageable, or would require a complete, from-scratch rewrite that would drastically alter the form of the story. A “F” story is something that’s so bad and so embarrassing that I won’t post it here… I’ve written those, but they’re all far enough in the past that I don’t have easy access to most of them. But you make a good point about stories having a depreciation rate contingent on my improvement as a writer. From my perspective, though, the timeline on this blog (it’s just under a year old) is short enough that my improvement over that time has been mostly incremental – so most of the grades are still pretty close to what they should be. And, since I hold the “A” grade as an ideal of what I consider my potential, that fact makes it kind of flexible over time already. Currently, though, I only have one completed story that deserves an “A” grade… and obviously I haven’t posted that here. That’s the story that my “short story progress” bar on the right has referred to… and which is currently out on submission. I’ve been “working on” (for values of “working on” that include not actually writing because school and other demands have made it very difficult to actually spend time writing) some stories that I think will become “A”s, including rewrites of some of the stories I’ve posted here, but they’re still out on the horizon…

  2. Cooker Hoods · permalink
    November 4, 2010 7:44 am

    sci-fi is the best, i always watch science fiction movies and read science fiction novels ::

    • November 4, 2010 8:55 am

      Legitimate comment? Or very clever spam that surprisingly takes advantage of the fact that this blog is by an aspiring speculative fiction author?

      You decide.

      But I’ve already decided to nix your “link”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 672 other followers

