Skip to content

Weekend Assignment: No Mountain Too High…

October 19, 2010

Weekend Assignment time:

Weekend Assignment # 340: How Far Would You Go?

Some people travel hundreds of miles (in extreme cases, thousands of miles)  to see a concert by a favorite performer, or to meet their favorite writers at a convention, or to attend some other kind of public appearance by someone they especially admire. Other people don’t even bother to go downtown to take advantage of such an opportunity. How far would you go to meet one or more of your favorite writers, actors, musicians, comedians or other artists, and to attend a performance by him or her or them?

Extra Credit: What is the farthest you have ever gone in a similar situation?

I’m going to start this time by answering the Extra Credit, first.  Let me tell you the thrilling tale of the great lengths I went to to meet my favorite author.  I had to cross mountains, tread through the burning desert, and swim an ocean…

Who’m I kidding?  I’ve never really gone anywhere to see anyone even remotely bordering on famous.  Heck, I’ve lived in Atlanta, now, for four years, and yet I’ve never even taken the time to go to Dragon*Con – a fantasy and sci-fi convention that regularly draws celebrities of various kinds (writers, actors, directors, etc.) involved in the production of many of my favorite fantasy and sci-fi entertainments.  That’s right… I’ve never even gone to the trouble of driving downtown to catch my favorite writers, actors, and characters.

The best I can offer was when my family and I went to a Weird Al Yankovic concert when he came to perform at the local amusement park down in V-town.  And considering how backwater V-town is… Weird Al went a lot farther out of his way to come see us than we did to see him.

So, how far would I go?  I think my tale answers that question fairly well.  We live in a celebrity-driven culture.  But I’m kind of laid back about life, and I don’t take celebrity culture seriously.  I might like your work.  I might think what you do is superior to what other people are doing or attempting to do in the same field.  But, ultimately, what gets me excited isn’t the creator of some cool entertainment property – it’s the entertainment itself.  I just can’t be troubled to make huge sacrifices to catch a fleeting glimpse of the creators of my favorite entertainment, because I’m too busy enjoying what they’ve made.

That… and making something, writing something, myself.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 4:45 pm

    Hmm I haven’t gone to anything like that either. I’ve never been to a concert, or a book signing, or a con. A lot of filming happens in town, but whenever the bright lights are glowing, I usually stay away. I figure the actors are probably tired of being hassled (for the most part), and would rather leave them to their work.

    • October 19, 2010 5:52 pm

      You know… maybe if we don’t interrupt them while they work, they’ll make our favorite new movies faster? 😉

  2. October 19, 2010 10:55 pm

    Now that you’ve mentioned it…I don’t think I’ve ever gone to see a celebrity like that before either. I remember once when I was a little kid I went to go to get an autograph from a famous book character at the local library. (Yah. Draw your own conclusions. Lol :)) Other than that, my beloved author, Ellen Raskin, is dead…I guess Roland Smith has never dropped by the area, that I heard of, and I don’t watch television or many modern movies, so stars are sort of out of the picture. I’m not a concert-type person…bleh, awkward city! “Sure! I’ll spend three hours standing in a crowd of screaming fans!!!” Yah, I don’t think so. As far as book signings, that’d be awkward too (can you see I’m not an outgoing person?). I guess I’d rather drive a hundred miles to see a friend than to see a celebrity. If I wanted to see a celebrity, I’d go look ’em up on Wikipedia.

    • October 20, 2010 9:50 am

      I don’t have anything against meeting or otherwise interacting with celebrities/famous people. But I can’t be bothered to engage in the mindless celebrity worship that so casually infects our society. The way I see it, celebrities are people, too, no different then me. It just so happens that they have jobs that very much put them in the public eye.

      • October 20, 2010 10:31 am

        “But I can’t be bothered to engage in the mindless celebrity worship that so casually infects our society.” Here here. Much too much to live in life to find out who Angelina Jolie’s new beaux is. (Or is she married already?…You see what I mean?)

      • October 20, 2010 10:46 am

        I certainly can’t tell you the score there!

      • October 20, 2010 11:19 am

        Although, to be honest, I could easily google it.

      • October 20, 2010 5:18 pm

        Easily Google? Isn’t that redundant? 😀 …so what came up? Oh wait, are we stalking celebrities? 😮 Oh no!

      • October 20, 2010 6:12 pm

        I said I could easily google… not that I wouuld! And, since a phrase like “google-fu” is a necessary addition to the lexicon… no… I don’t think it always is redundant to add the modifier “easily”. Sometimes what you want just pops up. Sometimes… not so much.

  3. October 22, 2010 11:07 pm

    I also am not celebrity driven. I don’t really care to meet one of my favorite authors because we don’t have the relationship to have a meaningful conversation (I’d be much more interested in meeting you, TS, or JP because we at least have a short set of things in common).

    However, I’ve flown to Sweden to see a Cirkus Cirkör show (ok, really I flew there for work and search to see if they are playing every time I come to visit).

    I’ve also met many musicians in the irish traditional music scene. While in Nashville, I played with a small group of musicians and would go to concerts and get introduced to the band by friends of mine (Cherish the Ladies, Altan). Also, a friend of mine dragged me to a Gráda concert where he’d met the fiddler while hitch-hiking in Australia. Strange coincidences led to the ticket agent letting us in before the show started (to avoid pan-handlers in the street) and the fiddler saw us from on stage during their sound check came out to chat for a while and invited us to join them at a bar down the street after the show where we sat at the table with the band. I’ve never been much of a groupie… but that night was pretty close.

  4. October 23, 2010 3:18 am

    I flew from NZ to Australia for a music festival and met a band and got some stuff signed. That was about a 3.5 hour flight. I’d go that far again to hear a band, but probably not for an author. The way I see it, all I want from an author is to read their books, and I can do that from home!

Leave a Reply

