Skip to content

A Little Linkage – A Creepy Tale

October 15, 2010

Sometimes, when you’re out there on the internets, doing your lunch-break thing… you encounter a little buried treasure.  Human decency compels you, then, to share the love a little with your fellow man.

This is one such time.  Here’s a site that’s been around since 2001, so some of you may have encountered it before. But this week was my first time. 

As a bit of background from my own experience relating to the story on this page, I’ve been caving once before.  It was a unique experience.  I hope someday to go again.  But there is something inherently creepy about being in a cave.  It’s hard to describe – someday I may do so in a regular blog post.  But that one experience (in a large group, mind you) left me with enough of an impression of what it’s really like deep in the bowels of Mother Earth to get totally creeped out by the events described on the link I’m about to give you.  This isn’t a story like what you’ll see on my page, with the usual trappings to safely transport you into the fictional world… no “Imaginary title here” by: Author’s Name Here.  Instead, you are left to wonder at the truth of the events described (howbeit, I did a little further research, after the fact, to learn more…)  But I was captivated in a most peculiar way.

Therefore, I present to you, a link to the creepy tale of “Ted’s Caving Page“. 

You’re welcome, and Happy October 😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 11:34 am

    Gee, Stephen, I hope YOUR testosterone didn’t drive you into any of that! 😦 There’s no happy ending and it’s creepier if one thinks it actually happened!
    I only went to touristic caves with guided tours… but reading this tale didn’t invite me to try caving on my own! 😉 (I’m too lazy anyway, haha!)

    • October 23, 2010 2:30 pm

      I enjoyed crawling around in a real cave (i.e. not with handrails), and I’d do it again. But I’m not dumb enough to go off on my own and try to explore the deepest darkest pits of the earth without either a lot more experience or a very experienced guide. The punchline for that story is: at least some of it is true! The creepy cave really does exist, the excavation really took place, and the strange, frightening noises really emanated deep from the bowls of the earth… and so on. I won’t spoil the rest for everyone, but if you want to know what was true and what wasn’t, you’ll have to do a little digging on the internet (I felt strangely compelled).

      • October 24, 2010 10:07 am

        I am compelled too, this Blair Witch Project sounds interesting, but… I don’t know where to start from! So spoil for me with a private message, haha! 😀

      • October 24, 2010 1:22 pm

        I sent an e-mail 🙂

  2. November 10, 2010 6:26 pm

    Glad to see that stories still floating around and getting discovered by new readers, I know I enjoyed reading it the first time I found it. I’ve been in many caves and heard plenty of strange sounds but of course the mind plays tricks on you in the dark 🙂

    • November 11, 2010 9:05 am

      It was a fun story – and digging and learning the “truth” of what actually happened was almost as fun. It had a pretty strong “Blair Witch” vibe – and I wonder if it wouldn’t make for a pretty good psychological horror movie…

Leave a Reply

