Skip to content

The Sum of All Midterms

June 24, 2010

It turns out, only one of my midterm exams was this week.  The other, for my Wednesday class (“Leading People and Organizations”) won’t be for another couple weeks.

That’s actually kind of nice.  Only one test to cram for in a week.  I’m not sure how well I did on the test for Managerial Accounting – I mean, I think I did well, but I’m not sure how well.  As in… did I do very well or just okay?

As it turned out, I opened the test to look at the first problem, and was stumped right away.  I thought I had prepared well.  But there it was, the first question, mocking me.  “There are two different ways to calculate X.  Calculate X using both methods.”  Wait.  There are two ways to calculate X?  Crap.  I only remembered one way to do it.  No matter.  After a moment of thinking, I tackled the problem logically.  First, let’s calculate using the way I already know how.  Then, let’s break the problem down to decompose what the other method must be, and do that.  I still wasn’t sure, though, so I later went back and recalculated the problem a third way, just to check my work.  When the third method turned out identical to my second method, I felt more confident that I had done it right.

But the knot of worry that the first problem put in me stayed with me the whole test.  Most of the other problems failed to stump me quite so thoroughly as the first problem, but I was wary.

Anyway, it’s over, and now the waiting game.  My goal this semester has really been to get top marks again.  I haven’t done that in several semesters.  In fact, I think the last time I got top grades in both my classes for that semester was in the Spring of 2009 – so it’s been over a year.  Like I’ve said before: I’m in a different caliber of school, here.  My program is chock full of really smart people.  And being a really smart person among a cohort of really smart people kind of means you’re suddenly average, in a way.  At least as far as the people I’m interacting with, this now holds true.

Even though it’s my goal to get top grades in both classes this semester (honestly, that has never not been my goal, but I’ve grown accustomed to knowing I have to do with second-best grades most semesters), I am reminded from time to time that my real goal needs to be focused on preparing myself for post-graduation.  Obviously I didn’t start working on my MBA in order to remain in the position I have now.  The purpose of this education is to position myself for advancement in my career.  But the education alone will not make that happen.  There’s a lot – I mean a lot – that needs to be done if I’m to take advantage of the opportunity getting this degree provides.  And the time when those things need to be done is now.  Or… in some cases… yesterday.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 1:22 pm

    Ah, midterms!!! I remember those (not especially fondly). Best wishes on your grades!

  2. June 24, 2010 2:21 pm

    “And being a really smart person among a cohort of really smart people kind of means you’re suddenly average, in a way”

    But that’s the challenge isn’t it? This kind of cohort forces you to keep up, to stay on your toes, to keep striving to do better.

    Good luck on your exams!

    • June 24, 2010 2:46 pm

      Indeed. Which reminds me… I’ve been meaning to write about “writing cohorts”. I’ll have to get to that in the next week or so.

      • June 24, 2010 3:12 pm

        I’ve only begun to realize that ‘cohorts’ seem to be the case rather than the exception. It seems like a lot of the new authors published these days know each other. Is it because the spec fic writing circles are so small? Or is it because there’s shared knowledge, encouragement, a shared forum for experience, that comes from a cohort and drives the group towards success?

        I do know that personally, I’d rather not be doing this writing thing alone (hence the blogging). I think I’d go nuts with doubt if I didn’t connect with other writers.

      • June 24, 2010 3:19 pm

        It does seem that way, yes. And I think I read about that being the case from established writers.

        I think it’s probably a combination of things, though. I’ll have to think about it a little (and maybe read up) before I post my thoughts.

      • June 24, 2010 6:04 pm

        If I get published, I hope to get into the circle of famous writers! That would make me feel so special! lol

      • June 24, 2010 8:28 pm

        That’s the ticket!

Leave a Reply

