Skip to content

A Minor Change in Format

June 7, 2010

Okay, I’m checking in quickly, today, to check your reaction to a minor change in the format of the blog, here. I’ve added a link to the upcoming sister-blog to this one (i.e. the one that’s actually named after me: “Stephen Watkins, Writer” – which currently only has the “inaugural” post from when I set that blog up back in April), as well as a a twitter feed to my latest twitter posts (which currently are only twitterfied versions of my blog titles, but in some theoretical future may include other things).

The question I’m asking: does this make my side-bard look too cluttered?

What I’d like to do, ideally, is remove the navigation links (to the Pages and Categories) on the sidebard and replace them with something else; but for that to work, I’d like to see drop-down menus for the category and page tabs you see across the top enabled for this theme: a probability that currently isn’t in the cards, so far as I can see. But if that were to come to pass, that would free up some space for these feeds, and I could do a lot to clean up the blog.

Anyway, I’ll share more about what I’m trying to do in a post later this week. Stay tuned until then. For now, have a poll:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:43 am

    If you see no poll, then something wacky happened in the post-by-email feature… and I’ll fix it later when I get an opportunity to access the wordpress dashboard. In the meantime, leave thoughts in comments. Thanks 🙂

  2. June 7, 2010 3:32 pm

    I thought your sidebar is too cluttered, although I don’t think it was the sister-site link that did it…+ The twitter feeds are a little much. I think you should put the categories in a drop-down. Also, like Tessa did on her site (and I copied on mine), you should create a separate page for all your links. If you do these two things, then your sidebar will clean up very nicely. 🙂

    -j.p.

    • June 7, 2010 3:46 pm

      I’d love to do as you suggest, with regards to the category drop-down, but as long as I’m paying what I’m paying to wordpress ($0) I’m already getting more than what I pay for… In other words, the theme I’m using doesn’t support that option (and I’m not as big a fan of the themes that do support that option, with respect to how I want this blog to appear, generally).

      I’ve been contemplating dumping all my links into a separate link page and cleaning that off… I just like the personal ease-of-use to yours truly – so that I can just visit my blog then have quick access to the pages I typically like to visit in any given day. Dumping them to a separate page means an extra click for me 😉

      But… of course, the reason I asked is that really what I’m trying to do is make this a better experience for the readers. So the feedback is appreciated.

      • June 7, 2010 4:32 pm

        Really? I shouldn’t think it would be too hard. Have you gone to the widgets section? There should be a “Categories” widget that would allow you to make a drop-down for the categories. …?

        -j.p.

      • June 7, 2010 4:42 pm

        It’s possible I’m mistaken. I shall have to check it out again.

  3. June 8, 2010 5:37 pm

    I also think your sidebar is too cluttered – and that the link to your new blog isn’t the culprit. I would suggest you get rid of as much stuff as you can – or put it on other pages. Instead of writing what I’d get rid of (if I was in your shoes), here’s what I’d keep:

    -search
    -story progress
    -link/intro to new blog
    -latest post at new blog
    -RSS links
    -archive drop-down

    Instead of the ‘topics’ I’d add a tag cloud. I’m not sure about the links to friends, organizations and authors – perhaps group them together somehow? Or make them easier to browse through by making the line spaces smaller?

    These are only my suggestions – but I’m notorious for trying to keep things clean and simple, so feel free to ignore 🙂

    • June 8, 2010 8:23 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts!

      I do intend to clean it up a little… (although, honestly, not too much, because I like a little clutter, as long as everything is easy to find)

      But it’ll have to wait, for now. At least until I have a little time to deal with it.

Trackbacks

  1. The Blog of the Future « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

