Skip to content

My Dog is Sensitive

March 10, 2010

Yeah, I’m posting this out of the regular schedule of daily 8:00 a.m.  That’s because I already have Thursday’s and Friday’s posts planned out.

A little background, first.  Our dog, Shasta, has grown increasingly needy and anxious as my wife’s pregnancy has progressed.  We’re certain she knows that something is changing, but doesn’t quite understand what.  We try to make sure we give her a lot of loving and hugging her and giving her affection so she knows she’s still loved, even if we spend a little extra time doting on Dear Wife’s belly, too.

Also, Shasta has always had a bit of a gas problem.  From the first day we brought her home from the animal shelter, we were driving along when we smelled something rather foul.  We looked at each other, and looked back at our new dog, and said to each other “What have we got ourselves into?”  Shasta’s always taken our gentle teasing about her problem pretty well.  I mean… she is a dog, and even though we learned she probably has a vocabulary of 50 to 100 words that she understands, we were pretty sure she couldn’t understand complex sentences in which we gently jibed her about the smells she shares with us.

So, last night, as is often the case, Shasta farted.  Not the first time, and not the first time we’ve groaned aloud at the smell.  But this time, Shasta’s ears drooped, and she started skulking away like we’d just scolded her.  We were pretty surprised, so I called her over to come sit on the couch in my lap.  Now, she’s a 50-pound dog who can easily jump straight onto the couch, but she’s always acted like climbing onto the couch is terribly difficult for her (we know it’s simply not true, because we’ve seen her jump onto it in a single bound to pursue a flying tennis ball).  This time was no different, except she farted again as she “struggled” onto the couch!  I groaned again, and made a typically snide remark about her farts.

I’d never offended her before, but this time, she jumped back down, skulked away, and hid behind the easy chair like I’d yelled at her!  I was so sad for her.  It took some coaxing to call her back, but we got her up on the couch (this time without her farting) and cuddled her and told her we loved her and we were sorry.  She seemed pretty satisfied with that, and her usual grin promptly returned.  All was forgiven.

And that’s that.  Other than to celebrate the posting of my 100th post on this blog (yeah me, and yeah consistency!), and my 1,000th hit!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 5:10 pm

    Hahaha! Gross!

    Also, I find that writing in a blog — however insignificant it seems — truly is good practice for a writer. If it gets you writing more regularly, than that’s good, and I think it does strengthen your writing, actually. So congratulations on the 1,000th post! 🙂

    • March 10, 2010 5:24 pm

      Thanks, Sara!

      But I’m not at 1,000 posts, yet. Today is 100 posts, but I also surpassed 1,000 hits, or page-views the same day. I guess that averages to about 10 hits per post. I agree with you, though: forcing myself to write regularly (even if mainly on lunch breaks, and mainly on a modest blog) has been refreshing.

      Unrelated… I just sent you a quick e-mail with a question on something Dear Wife had suggested to me. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

  2. marjorie permalink
    March 11, 2010 5:18 am

    I’m very delighted that you managed to pop in two consecutive personal and amusing stories about your domestic life . You mentioned before that there are times when you’ve been wanting of topics to write about and it got me a little worried because I always look forward to reading something from you. I wanted to tell you “oh, just write about anything, Stephen.” But you expressed in the past that you aren’t very comfortable in exposing some intimate details or circumstances of your life. So I simply proceeded to enjoy whatever you were willing to share because you write beautifully crafted prose, whether it be about your passion for sci-fi and fantasy writing, or your writer’s journey outlines, or your evening classes as an MBA student. I liked them all.
    I hope you get to do this every now and then or whenever you feel like it. I’m sure I’m not your only fan who’s gonna be pleased.
    Thanks, Stephen.

    • March 11, 2010 9:31 am

      I wouldn’t worry too much. When I say something like that, I usually end up asking my wife, and she gives me ideas. So far, it’s always worked out!

      Mainly I worry, when writing too much personal-life stuff, about where the line needs to be. It’s not so much that I don’t want to talk about it at all, but if I cross the line (and I’m not sure where the line is, yet), I fear that puts my family at unnecessary risk. But it’s fun to talk about my family because that’s one more thing that gets me genuinely excited and makes me happy (unlike, say, how I spend most of my weekdays, which used to be somewhat enjoyable, up to about a year ago, but no longer is).

Leave a Reply

