Skip to content

Games With My Son

March 10, 2010

So, over the weekend, I think I got to play my first baby games with my son.  I’ll refer to him here as B.T. (to my wife: that’s a replacement cipher for B.T.’s actual first two initials.)  My wife has been playing some of these games with B.T. for the last few weeks already.  When I poked my wife’s belly, B.T. poked back, and if I poked 2 or 3 times, he poked back 2 or 3 times.  Frankly, it was kind of cool.  It’s like an in-utero version of peek-a-boo or something.  We hope B.T. will be an avid player of games as he grows older, because we have a nice collection of board games, many of which can’t really be played with only two players.

At this point, you can kind of tell where B.T.’s head is at any given time, because it’s a big, hard round thing that pokes out of my wife’s belly.  Sometimes you can tell where the butt-end is, because it’s round but not quite as hard, and has small hard things coming off of it.  He spends a lot of time rolling around, but mostly seems to hang out on my wife’s right side.

Anyway, that’s enough of my gushing over impending fatherhood.  I just wanted to take this break to talk about that since it gave me such a fine feeling.  I’ll return you to your regularly scheduled whatever-it-is-I-usually-talk-about on this blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. BT's mama permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:58 am

    I loved how your face lit up when he kicked back in response to your pokes. It was cute. You’re going to be a great daddy!

  2. March 10, 2010 3:27 pm

    Hi, Stephen – I spotted your tweet about this post b/c I have a saved search on “father to be” – which I set up after publishing my book for new dads, based on material gathered over years at my http://www.dadtoday.com blog. Really interesting to stumble upon your “Undiscovered Writer” blog – also to read details on you About page (I finished my MBA in 2006, but have always been and continue to be writer at heart as well). Will be interested to track your journey. Maybe, when you have some breakthroughs you can offer a guest post over at my other blog on all the random things I’m trying to get word out about my book (http://fromnotobest.blogspot.com). Peace, Stefan

    • March 10, 2010 3:33 pm

      Cool, I’d be delighted to guest-post if and when I ever breakthrough in the publishing world. I’ll have to check out your blog, as well. As a father-to-be, I realize I’m not as knowledgable as I’d like to be about this whole journey. So I’m sure I can learn a thing or two. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Leave a Reply

