Skip to content

From the Trenches

January 26, 2010

I’ve talked about how I might find time for writing by putting that time upfront, or finding moments in those five-minute-breaks between things that have to get done.  But with the semester getting under way, I’m finding things aren’t always so easy.

Although, I knew that already.  There’s a reason why I hadn’t been writing anything over the previous year or more since I started work on my MBA.  Frankly, the course work is demanding – especially when around ten hours of the day are absorbed, off the top, by my full-time job.

Other than this blog, I haven’t written much of anything for the past week.  I have found, however, that my notebook has started to come in handy, again.  I’m glad I still have that tool up my sleeve.  I’ve used it a couple times in the past few weeks.  As long as I have it around, I find ideas start simmering in the back of my mind.  For me, though, 90% of those ideas revolve around that long-gestating novel – even though I tell myself I need to think about other things, other potential novel ideas, if I want to be successful (I don’t want to count on the Harry Potter model: write a single series of novels, get incredibly lucky in your timing after a period of financial destitution, then grow fabulously wealthy and not have to write anything else ever again).  I do have other ideas for novels, but most of my ideas seem to impact that other novel.  I guess it’s because it’s the one work that I find most closely mirrors my own heart and soul – it’s tied to my own personal narrative in a way.

In the meantime, I’ve had increasing trouble figuring out what to write about here.  With progress on my short story temporarily stalled, I’m not running across new (and hopefully interesting to read about) lessons to learn from that process.

But I will have class.  And I wonder if I’ll have to write about class, just to have a couple topics to muse on here.  The classes this semester: Decision Modeling for one and Project Management for the other.  Decision Modeling is with our very popular and highly awarded professor.  And, so far, it’s been very interesting.  It has a lot of potential applicability to my current job.  Project Management will hopefully be a good exploration of another possible career-field, post-MBA.

So, I’ll report more on those classes each week, and what I’ve learned there.  In the coming weeks, I’ll also tell a little more about the story behind that novel of mine (not the plot of the novel, but the story of how it came to be).  I’ll talk about my novel-writing-reboot process, and I’ll compare-and-contrast novel writing with short-story writing.  Stay tuned, and happy writing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

