Skip to content

2014: Movies of Interest

February 12, 2014
tags: ,

In what loook to be an ongoing annual feature here, I thought I’d look ahead at movies coming out in 2014 – especially of the SF&F variety – that have caught my interest… and, in a few cases, which I think I’ll actually see in theaters.

  • The Hobbit: There And Back Again Because duh! Huge epic fantasy fan, here. Not going to miss this one.  If I see only one movie released in 2014 in theaters, this will likely be it. (Even if, as with The Desolation of Smaug, I don’t actually get to see it in the year it is released…) Releases December 17, 2014
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 I liked the Hunger Games movie and, if anything, Catching Fire was even better, IMO.  So I’m looking forward to the next installment in the film series, and I expect there’s a strong likelihood I’ll catch it in Theaters as well.  But I can’t let this go without mentioning how sad I was to hear about the untimely passing of Philip Seymour Hoffman. Releases November 21, 2014
  • The Lego Movie I am an unrepentant geek.  I had reservations about this movie when I first saw the original trailer, but let’s be honest: this was never not going to win me over.  I mean, it has Batman!  (And not Ben Affleck as Batman!) And also Star Wars!  I expect it to be a glorious medley and hash of everything I love about Legos, and to not make one whit of sense, and still to be oh-so-much fun.  Plus, the reviews of this one are actually pretty fantastic. Something tells me B.T. would get pretty excited about this movie, too, if he knew about it.  Already Released
  • Robocop I loved the original (probably much more violent than I really needed at that age) Robocop as a kid.  So I was naturally curious about this.  On the general topic of reboots and remakes, I sit on the fence: some are good, and some are bad.  And, you know what? I’ve been really impressed by the trailers for this particular remake.  Plus, it looks like some actual thought went into how the themes of the original Robocop are, in some interesting ways, more relevant today than ever, and it looks like this movie is going to explore the implications of those themes in the post Predator-drone world.  I was this close to catching a pre-release screening of this one (courtesy of some opportunities made available through my day job), but the various “winter storms” that have spread across the land like a shadow from Mordor had other plans.  Releases February 12, 2014
  • The Wind Rises Mainly because, as I’ve stated before, I adore the work of Hayao Miyazaki.  This one seems to be grounded in actual history and reality, rather than the typical SF&Fnal themes Miyazaki often explores, but what the heck.  One of these days, I’ll get myself all caught up on Miyazaki.  Releases February 21, 2014
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier I still haven’t gotten caught up with The Avengers and it’s several tentacle-like offshoot movies, so it’s unlikely I’ll see the newest Captain America in Theaters.  But would you look at that: this movie’s got flying aircraft carriers.  How very deiselpunk. Anyway, I enjoyed the first Captain America, so this’ll go on my DVD-for-sure list.  Releases April 4, 2014
  • Godzilla Like Robocop above, this is a remake of a movie I loved as a kid. Given how iconic Godzilla is, you probably did, too.  And, just like Robocop above, this is one where the trailer made me go “Wow, that looks really, really cool”. The same caveats about remakes apply, of course. But… well… this looks really cool.  Releases May 16, 2014
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past I loved the first two X-Men movies back in 2000 and 2003. I felt like they were great adaptations of the X-Men material, and they really helped to usher in the modern era of superhero flicks. But the third X-Men movie was kind of a disaster – a mostly incoherent mishmash of plots, any one of which likely would’ve made a fantastic movie by itself but together felt disjointed.  I haven’t seen an X-Men movie since.  (Okay, let’s be honest: that’s not for lack of interest; X-Men: The Last Stand wasn’t so bad that it soured me on X-Men movies. Rather, between that and the release of X-Men Origins: Wolverine I’d gotten married and started grad school and my go-and-see-a-movie-because-I-want-to-on-a-whim free time began evaporating into the black hole of adult responsibility. Hey, it happens.) Since then, though, I’ve really liked the look of what I’ve seen on trailers for First Class and The Wolverine. And Days of Future Past looks like it does a good job of picking up from there, based on some pretty impressive trailers. But I haven’t yet seen First Class or Wolverine (see aforementioned comment on free time versus black hole of adult responsibility).  So I won’t be seeing this in theaters.  But I do want to see it – right after I finish up catching the other X-Men movies I’ve missed on DVD… Releases May 23, 2014
  • Maleficent I’m a sucker for Disney movies. I never quite grew out of them, and I’ve no shame in that (why should someone have to grow out of it, anyway). As mentioned here several times, in general I have mild reservations about remakes – but ultimately I reserve my judgment based on the final product itself. And so far, this one is looking like a very interesting retelling of the classic Disney version of Sleeping Beauty. And, wow, does Angelina Jolie really embody Maleficent so well. Maleficent really is, after all, probably the best animated Disney Villain. My biggest hope for this movie is that, before the end, she turns into a dragon. There aren’t enough dragons in movies, and the dragon from the original Sleeping Beauty was probably one of the top 5 or 6 movie dragons ever.  Releases May 30, 2014
  • Edge of Tomorrow So… it’s Groundhog’s Day but with an alien invasion and powered armor suits? Color me… intrigued at the very least. I know there weren’t a lot of positive reviews for Cruise’s most recent science-fictional outing, but I’m still interested enough to be watching this one very closely. I mean, what’s not to love about the formulation above? Releases June 6, 2014
  • How To Train Your Dragon 2 Remember when I said there weren’t enough dragons in movies? I stand by that, but this movie helps to close the gap. I pretty much loved the first How To Train Your Dragon, and this looks like it’s going to take the world that was explored in that movie and really push its boundaries. I’d be delighted to return to that world, and to experience more dragony goodness. In all honesty, I expect this to be a fantastic movie. Releases June 14, 2014
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes I haven’t seen Rise of the Planet of the Apes yet, though it’s on my to-rent-on-DVD-when-I-have-time-to-watch-movies list. I don’t expect that time to magically materialize between now and when this movie comes out, so I don’t expect to see this in theaters. But there were a lot of good reviews for Rise, and Dawn looks to be just as good. It looks like this new Planet of the Apes series is taking the basic premise of the original and really finding some interesting and compelling new stories to tell based on that premise. Releases July 11, 2014
  • Into the Woods I know nothing about this except that it is, I believe, an adaptation of the Broadway musical of the same name. In which case, I’ve got to put this on my list. I’ve long wanted to see the Broadway show. Releases December 25, 2014

Honorable Mentions

There are a few movies that have landed on my radar that I’m currently on-the-fence about. I’ve just no way of knowing how I’ll feel about these, yet, and for most of them I expect I’ll be plenty happy waiting for the reviews to come in before I decide if I want to see these at some point…

Noah This looks potentially epic.  Hey, it’s about the end of the world… albeit one that occurred a long time ago. (It’s alright.  The world got better…)  And of course, there’s the little fact that this is based on one of the primary mythic narratives of several of the world’s major religions.  All that said, I would not shun an opportunity to see this, were it to arise.  Releases March 28, 2014

Transendence A movie about the Singularity, and of course this being Hollywood the Singularity is a bad thing. But it’s also got Johnny Depp not being a quirky pirate, or a quirky vampire, or a quirky denizen of nonsense-land, or a quirky Native American sidekick, or a quirky anything really. Actually… it looks like he’s basically the bad guy and it looks like he plays it pretty straight.  That alone might be worth seeing. Releases April 18, 2014

Interstellar What is this about? The trailer says I’m a deep movie about pushing human frontiers, and also I’m emotionally complex, or something, but damned if I have a plot. IMBD says it’s about “explorers” using a “newly discovered wormhole” to make an “interstellar voyage”. To where? And why? So far mum’s the word. It’s directed by Christopher Nolan. That’s good. It stars Matthew McConaughy. Yawn. It’s an original story, not a remake, adaptation, or sequel. That’s interesting. So this is on the radar, but right now I know too little about it to judge how high my interest will be.  Releases November 7, 2014

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 I’m still not ready for the too-soon Spider-Man reboot. Give it a couple years, and I’m sure Tobey Maguire’s turn as the web-slinger will be enough of a memory that I’ll be able to enjoy these movies.  Releases May 2, 2014

Jupiter Ascending In theory this is all a super-cool Epic Fantasy Space Opera whiz-bang bonanza. It’s from the Wachowski Siblings, who previously brought us The Matrix (Yay!) and also Speed Racer (Boo!) and also Cloud Atlas (Bwuh?). This could go any way. My personal bet, though: this is going to be 2014’s box office boondoggle. So far there just doesn’t sound like there’s anything truly original in this story – it’s all generic “poor or orphaned young person is secretly destined to destroy the evil tyrannical dictator”. You know, like orphans do. I enjoy that basic storyline as much as the next Epic Fantasy fan, but I like to have something truly new added to that mix. And making the poor young destiny-laden hero a girl doesn’t exactly count as new.  (It’s not a bad idea that the Chosen One is a she – that’s certainly a welcome addition to the oeuvre of the trope – but gender-swapping tropes is nothing particularly new.) Releases July 18, 2014

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Do we need a remake of the Turtles? Yeah, as a kid I thought they were awesome. I’m sure today’s kids will also think they’re awesome. I’ll just have to wait-and-see, I guess, how I’ll actually feel about this once I catch a couple trailers and maybe see some buzz and/or reviews… Releases August 8, 2014

The Maze Runner In an ideal world, I’d want to read the book, first. I’ve heard it’s actually a pretty good book. The basic plot outline certainly leaves me intrigued: a kid with amnesia finds himself awaking in the middle of a maze with no explanation, and must become part of a community of kids who have likewise been deposited in this maze.  And, you know, maybe solve the maze and figure out what’s going on here? At least, I’d guess that’s where the story wants to go. (Like I said, I haven’t read this yet, and while it’s on my reading list, it was pretty far down on the list behind lots of other stuff I also want to read.)  Releases September 19, 2014

The Boxtrolls The teasers I’ve seen for this make it look positively charming, and I love the stop-motion aesthetic. But this doesn’t have the look of “must-see on the big screen”. Still, I imagine it will be a wonderfully entertaining movie.  Releases September 26, 2014

Movies from 2013

2013’s movie outings went pretty much as expected.

I saw 4 movies that were released in 2013, the first of which was Man of Steel.  This was also my biggest disappointment of the year.  I’d give the movie somewhere between a B+ and an A-.  But it could have been, should have been, an A+.  The pieces were almost all there – IMHO, a solid script and excellent casting and acting capability – but I think the directing by Zack Snyder left… something to be desired.  It was frenetic and action-oriented and left too-little time for character building and spent way, way, way too much time on stuff blowing up. How his continued helmsmanship of the DC-Universe movies figures into things does not fill me with hope for the future of my two favorite superheroes.  (I’m still unreservedly against Bat-fleck, and despite my love of this material, I’m convinced that Man of Steel II will be a disastrous box office bomb.  When it happens… nobody can say WB wasn’t warned.)

The next three movies I saw from 2013 I didn’t actually see until this year, and include one surprise visit from last year’s Honorable Mention list.  Of course, my other two top 2013 movies are on this list – Catching Fire and The Desolation of Smaug – both great and entertaining movies that, if anything topped the first of their respective series.  And then there was Frozen.  When I wrote up my movies list for 2013 I didn’t know much about Frozen.  Turns out it was a great Disney movie in the classical Disney style. It was also B.T’s first bonafide going-to-the-movies experience.  (His favorite part, he says, was when the princess turned to ice. Also the reindeer. And the snowman.)

I still want desperately to see Pacific Rim, which I heard described as either “the most awesome dumb movie, or the dumbest awesome movie” ever. Some inner-child in me fills with squee at the very thought of such a delightful concept.  Other than that, though, 2013 went as well as can be expected in terms of movie watching for a family man with a newborn infant in the house.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2014 12:10 pm

    Hobbit! Hobbit! Hobbit! (This cry of anticipation has pretty much been going strong since the first “Unexpected Journey” trailer released a year before the film. At this rate, it will turn into a lifelong habit, a reflex alive and well even after I’ve got the whole trilogy at home.)

    Also particularly looking forward to “Winter Soldier” and “Days of the Future Past” (because Cap is the man, as are many of the X-Men). I enjoyed “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”, so I’ll probably see “Dawn”, too. Planning to stay clear of “Amazing Spider-Man 2″; my viewing of the first one really was too soon after Tobey, and I’ve yet to forgive the new guy for /not/ being Tobey, so I’ll just save myself the aggravation.

    My sister and I caught the Lego movie yesterday. ‘Twas cute. As far as animated films go, though, I’m personally much more eager for “Frozen” to come out on DVD. (Same sister and I saw it the other month, and the music has yet to leave me.)

    • February 24, 2014 8:07 pm

      I’m sure once the Hobbit-based euphoria subsides another awesome, anticipatory film extravaganza will come along to fill the void… (Although for me even the Hobbit doesn’t completely fill the void left by the Lord of the Rings. But still, dragon, so there’s that.)

  2. February 12, 2014 1:25 pm

    Good summary. I wanted to like Superman, too, but just couldn’t. And I’m looking forward to the end of the Hobbit. I think Peter Jackson stretched it out way too much, but I’m still enjoying the movies.

    • February 25, 2014 10:48 am

      Agreed three movies was too much, but I think two would have been realistically feasible. The first Hobbit was stretched much too thin, but even so, as you say, I enjoyed it. The second was better.

  3. February 13, 2014 11:08 pm

    I almost saw the Hobbit movie, but there was some fairly extreme inclement weather and I decided to stay home and watch Cloud Atlas on DVD, which worked out very well. I also saw the Thor Movie, and American Hustle. I wrote about them here:

    http://u-town.com/collins/?p=4711

    A blog buddy practically insisted I see Pacific Rim, so I did, and it was exactly as you say. :-)

    I am somewhat intrigued by the Captain America movie.

    The X-Men movie is based on a really great story in the comics, but The Last Stand was based on two of the most classic stories ever (the Dark Phoenix and the “cure” storyline) and managed to (mostly) botch them up. It was an error to do both in the same movie, and this one has the same smell of overkill (as far as I can tell, there are about 75 characters in this thing). We’ll see.

    I confess that the one which I’m most anticipating is The Grand Budapest Hotel. I guess Wes Anderson hooked me good with Moonrise Kingdom.

    • February 26, 2014 11:03 am

      There was a lot of inclement weather, wasn’t there? Interesting that you see the latest X-men movie as being overwrought in the same fashion as X III. Buy I hear there will be sentinels, so that seems cool. I must also confess that I haven’t even heard of Grand Budapest Hotel. I also haven’t had a chance to catch Moonrise Kingdom yet either…

  4. February 26, 2014 2:39 pm

    So… I just saw the latest trailer released for the new Godzilla movie, and allow me to reiterate: “WOW! This looks really, really cool!” Plus it has Ken Watanabe! Watanabe for the Win!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 731 other followers

