Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending October 20, 2012

October 22, 2012

I was perhaps premature in declaring an end to my “slump”:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 157 words

Super Secret Project:

  • Wordcount: 0 words

Extra-Double-Super Secret Project 2:

  • Wordcount: Eleventy Bajillion words

Grand Total: Infinity words

Okay, obviously I’m joking there, about the Extra-Double-Super Secret Project #2.  I’ll get to that in a moment.  On the other two projects: Well, “Book of M” saw little productivity this week.  This wasn’t entirely unexpected on my part.  I could’ve done more, I think.  I should’ve done more.  But it still wouldn’t have been a whole lot.  If I’d been more efficient and a better writer in the time I had, I’d probably be looking at 500-ish words this week, instead of less than 200. 

I fully expected, on the other hand, to have little or no measureable productivity on the Super Secret Project. As I mentioned in the comments on last week’s update, the Super Secret Project is a non-fiction literary analysis sort of piece.  It’s my proposed contribution to a collection of such essays, the collection itself being likewise a proposal itself.  I don’t know whether the collection is a sure bet or not.  But my proposal for it isn’t a sure shot at all.  I’m told to expect to hear back near the end of the month.  Until then, there isn’t much to write on the essay.

But there’s research – of the reading kind, of course.  So I’m busy reading up on different things that touch on the topic of my proposed essay.

Meanwhile, there’s Extra-Double-Super Secret Project #2.  I jest in including this among the “writing projects” I track here.  The Project does exist, but it’s nothing whatsoever to do with writing.  Rather, it involves the manufacture of a costume.  You know, like you do this time of year.  Allow me to illuminate through the telling of a story.

Dear Wife and I had assumed for months now that B.T. would dress as a Fireman for our perennial festivities.  He’d developed an obsession for Firetrucks to accompany his obsessions for Trains and Planes.  We had a Fireman-themed raincoat and a little toy plastic Fireman’s helmet and gollashes.  Some black pants with reflective tape attached and voila!  We’d have a Freman costume.  The shortcoming in our plan?  We hadn’t stopped to ask the man himself what he wanted to be for Halloween.

You see… he wasn’t exactly vocal about his opinions in prior years.  He pretty much happily accepted whatever silly thing we decided to dress him in (a dragon and a puppy in the past two years).  But this year he’s bigger, more self-aware, and vocal.

So it was that one day when Dear Wife was reading to B.T. a recently checked-out library book that was seasonally-appropriate, she asked the little tyke what he wanted to be for Halloween.  B.T. had just been exposed to questions of dressing up as any number of traditional Halloween characters: ghosts and cowboys and whatnot.  B.T.’s totally unexpected response: “I want to be an airplane.”

Repeated inquiries have not swayed him from this planned course of action.  We’ve tried different ways of asking him “Wouldn’t you like to be a Fireman for Halloween?”  No dice.  We’ve tried asking him right after he’s just watched a little Fireman Sam or some other Fireman-themed program, or after reading a book with Firemen and Firetrucks in it.  This doesn’t change his mind.  His answer is always the same: “No, I want to be an airplane.”  The only change, in fact, has concerned the specific color of the airplane in question.  He’s gone from preferring a yellow one to preferring a red one.

So, what’s a father to do?

In part owing to some of the circumstances of the recent and on-going “Home Project”, which continues to drain time away from writing and other leisure activities, we are, shall we say, replete with cardboard boxes at the Casa Chez Watkins.  With those materials at hand, I hied myself off to the hardware store for some spray-paint (candy apple red in color) and duct-tape.

I may share pictures of the work-in-progress, if I get the opportunity.  But I spent a not-insignificant amount of time laboring with a box cutter over bits and pieces of corrugated cardboard.  There’s still lots to do.  But it’s been fun in it’s way.

So, how was your week, in writing or otherwise?  Planning on dressing as anything particular for the season of spookiness?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 5:58 pm

    But airplanes are waaay cooler than firemen, don’t all daddy’s know that? ;)

    Alas, nowhere to go this Halloween or dress up for. I got a couple of chapters worth of writing in this weekend, the first real big chunk of work I’ve done this year, I wrote perhaps 3500 words or so? Racing to the finish line on this draft.

    It will be interesting to see what happens with your secret projects. You seem to have a lot of those!

    • October 23, 2012 1:09 pm

      Wow, that’s a great amount of productivity! Congratulations. As for all my “projects”, I hope it was clear that the “Extra-Double-Super Secret Project 2″ was a joke – it was a stand-in for my airplane-costume-making activities. So, counting that, I have 4 different projects currently, 2 of which are writing-related and 2 which aren’t. There’s the “Home Project” which is likely to be ongoing for several more months at varying degrees of intensity. There’s the airplane costume (which should be wrapped up by the end of this week). And then there’s “Book of M” and the “Secret Project” literary analysis essay proposal. It’s a lot on my plate right now, to be sure.

      > Date: Mon, 22 Oct 2012 21:58:48 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Progress: Week Ending October 27, 2012 « The Undiscovered Author
  2. Happy Halloween! « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

