Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending October 13, 2012

October 17, 2012

As promised, I’m out of the slump… at least for now:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 553 words

Super Secret Project:

  • Wordcount: 507 words

Grand Total: 1,060 words

As it turns out that whole idea I had about spending October writing a short story?  Yeah, so far, it hasn’t happened.  Instead, this week, I started work on my new “Super Secret Project”, which I’m both excited about and terrified of.  The “Super Secret Project” isn’t a short story.  But a potential opportunity came up and I had to move to try to take advantage of it.  I’m excited because it’s something I’ve been wanting to work on for a while.  I’m terrified because I’m not sure I’m up to the task of doing the job right. It’s a pretty ambitious and difficult project.

Right now, though, the Super Secret Project is pretty tentative: there’s no guarantee I’ll “get the job”, so to speak.  I’m hopeful, of course, and excited, but I’m keeping my expectations in check.  What I wrote last week on the Super Secret Project was really just my proposal for the project, what I’m planning to do.  It wasn’t a typical query, really, but like I said this isn’t a short story – it’s not even fiction.   Even if this project doesn’t go forward , I’m happy to have had the opportunity to start fleshing out my idea for it and start expanding my knowledge of the subject.

If the project does go forward, then my November will be about the Super Secret Project instead of about “Book of M” – so no “Novel Month” for me.  “Book of M” will be on the back burner until I finish the Super Secret Project.  On the other hand, if the project doesn’t go forward, well… I’ve still got “Book of M”, don’t I?  And that’s not a bad deal either.

Speaking of which… after four weeks of nothing, I finally got in a word edgewise on the “Book of M”.  That felt good.

So, not a huge week, but a good one nonetheless.  How was your week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 10:36 am

    Well I’m back to the real world. I wrote 2500 words because I was required to. It’s amazing what you can whip up under time pressure. I don’t think it’s great, but it’s something. LOL now I can edit the heck out of it and turn it into something decent… I hope.

  2. October 17, 2012 1:50 pm

    Lot of editing this week. Re-posted the first mystery story with corrections (then spotted and fixed another goof), and now I’m working on #2 and #3. Still getting a lot of use out of the Text-to-Speech on the Kindle. Found two typos in Mystery #3 that nobody ever spotted before.

    A Super Secret Project, huh? That sounds intriguing..

    Theresa: welcome back. :-)

    • October 19, 2012 9:25 am

      “Super Secret” maybe plays the hand too hard. It’s a non-fiction literary analysis piece. I’m excited about it, though. But there’s two big questions hanging over it: (1) whether the overall project (an essay collection of sorts) goes forward, and (2) whether my proposal for a contribution to it gets accepted. I should find out within a couple weeks. So… does your work now on your mystery stories pre-empt your original plan for 2013 – 12 stories in 12 months?

      > Date: Wed, 17 Oct 2012 17:50:28 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

      • October 20, 2012 11:38 am

        Yes, I think the 12-stories-12-months plan is out. The problem is that it would push the new story back to 2014, and I’m going to be ready to start much sooner than that. And some stories need a lot of work and some need almost none, so they will take different lengths of time to finish.

        Oh, well. :-)

      • October 22, 2012 2:58 pm

        It was a neat idea, but I think you’re probably better off doing it the way you’re doing it anyway.

        > Date: Sat, 20 Oct 2012 15:38:45 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

