Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending October 6, 2012

October 8, 2012

I think I’m officially in a slump

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

I did manage to do a little bit of editing on some existing stuff I’d written – which if I tallied would actually result in a negative wordcount for the week.  But I did that while somewhat distracted, so I can’t be assured of the quality of the edit.

ETA: I should add, for completeness’ sake, that I lost one potential day’s writing to the machinations of U.S. politics, which was likely obvious to anyone who may have followed me as I live-tweeted the Presidential Debate last week…

In more positive news, my next week’s wordcount is bound to be better.  That’s because I did do some writing on Sunday evening.  I calculate my Writing Weeks from Sunday to Saturday, though, so that wordcount won’t show up until next week’s run-down.  We’ll see if I can add to it between now and then.

Incidentally, I bookmark my weeks that way just of the purposes of this post.  I’ve found tracking my wordcount can be a time-consuming enterprise all on it’s own.  I have to actually go through and add up what I’ve done.  I use this to help me track it all, but the spreadsheet is very large and highly taxing for my already-on-its-knees home laptop.  And so, anticipating that I’ll be updating my weekly progress on Mondays sometime (unless time doesn’t permit, and it slips to a Tuesday), I make sure I have my weekly numbers crunched by Saturday, because I don’t want to be caught too late on Sunday evening having done some additional writing (which itself is rare, as I don’t often write on Sundays) and then having to re-crunch my numbers.  Easy solution: cut it off on Saturday.

As for the writing that Sunday brought me: it was on Book of M, and not, as it turns out, on the Short Story I’d planned to work on in October.  Another writing opportunity may (or may not, as the case may be) have come up, in which case I’ll be focusing on that soon.  But I don’t really know yet whether to shift my attention or not.  So, in the meantime, I’ll just keep chugging, when there’s chugging to be had, on Book of M.

So that’s my world of writing at present.  How’s  yours?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2012 4:36 pm

    I suddenly went from zero NaNo ideas to two. Eep! Guess I’ll work on developing both, for now, and whichever grabs me hardest by November gets the front burner. (:

    • October 12, 2012 8:58 am

      If one of them doesn’t pull you harder you could just flip a coin. ;) But really: not a bad problem to have.

      > Date: Wed, 10 Oct 2012 20:36:02 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

      • deshipley permalink
        October 12, 2012 12:19 pm

        I’ve ended up deciding to go for both. *maniacal laughter* The idea with seniority goes first (I don’t want its characters mad at me for shoving them to the back of the line), then the plan is to have a week or two of November left to at least get started on the second novel. Given that I’ve thus far consistently completed my NaNo projects early, this ought to be doable. Time shall tell…

  2. October 12, 2012 8:10 am

    I had a (small) revelation this week (as detailed on my blog) that the reason the new story wasn’t coming together was that it’s not ready to come together yet, and what I really want to be doing right now is editing. So, thats what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 672 other followers

