Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending September 29, 2012

October 1, 2012

This week looks an awful lot like the last two weeks…

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: 0 words

Even without the significant family engagement that kept me busy during the two weeks prior, last week was still a no-show on the writing front.  What free time there was to be had I spent with Dear Wife, mostly working pretty hard on some of those long-overdue Home Projects.  We’ve got a list of several more things that need to be addressed in the next few weeks.  I expect to be substantially busy with much of that this week and next as well.  I still hope to get some writing time in, though.

So, looking forward, then, I’ve been thinking about the impending arrival of that perennial month of writing madness called NaNoWriMo in November.  If I’m realistic with myself – and I often am – there’s no way on God’s good green Earth that I’m going to be able to output some 50,000 words of novel this November – even if I cheat and use my current novel project as a “NaNo”.  The most I’ve written in any given month this year has been about 9,000 words.  In the last two months I’ve average about 2,000 words for the whole month!  Even if I am somehow able to crack down in November and really give it my best efforts, I don’t see it being reasonable to expect that I do anything better than 10-12,000 words in November (and that’s stretching things a bit, IMO).

Yet still, I feel inclined to mark the month in some way.  50,000 words may be a wholly unattainable pipe-dream.  25,000-words (a NaHaNoWriMo, if you will) still seems beyond unlikely.  Can I do 10,000 words?  (A NaIncMyWoCoWriMo – National Increase My Word Count Writing Month… but now we’re just getting silly.)  I don’t know, but I can stretch for it.

But there’s my plan.  In October, I’m going to switch gears, a little: I’m going to focus on a short story for a little while.  Hopefully that’ll give me some writing progress to talk about (and feel good about), provided I actually find time to write in October.  Then in November, assuming my October Short is done, I’ll switch gears back to Book of M to see if I can stretch for 10,000 words for the month.

So, what about you?  How was your writing week?  Are you looking forward to NaNoWriMo?  Will you be participating this year?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2012 12:49 pm

    I haven’t been writing, but I’ve devoured 3 novels in the same time span, which is unusual for me. I can’t balance writing and reading well together, I find. So… I’ve set aside a couple weeks to just read, which has my imagination going like crazy again. :)

    I’ve never nano’ed. I’m not sure if I will, but I’ll see what happens this October. If anything I need to finish this draft. Got about 20k more to write.

    • October 1, 2012 5:20 pm

      Reading and writing simultaneously is tough for me, too. As I’m currently between writing projects, I hope to get a lot of reading done before November hits and it’s back to my manic NaNo pace. I have no clue what that novel will be about, yet; maybe October’s reading will provide some inspiration. (:

      • October 2, 2012 7:42 pm

        Good luck! I’m hoping for inspiration too.

      • October 3, 2012 10:15 am

        That’s interesting. I don’t usually have problems with reading and writing over the same time period. Well… not at the exact same time, but you get what I mean. Good luck finding the inspiration you seek for NaNo!

      • October 3, 2012 12:11 pm

        Inspiration found me yesterday! ^-^
        Now to organize it into an actual plot line.

      • October 3, 2012 3:25 pm

        Excellent. You’ve got a good amount of time (unless you were me) to get things organized. Good luck.

        > Date: Wed, 3 Oct 2012 16:11:30 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

    • October 3, 2012 10:14 am

      Wow… you’ve read 3 novels in how much time? I’ll soon be starting on my 6th novel this year, which feels great to be reading that much, let me tell you.

      • October 3, 2012 3:42 pm

        I’m aiming to finish a 4th by the end of this week so that makes 2 weeks in total – also from that reading rate, you can see why I have no time to write simultaneously LOL I’m generally too greedy to pace myself, and I want to know what happens. It does feel good though. I haven’t been reading enough the last few years. My rate’s been about 12 books a year, the last few years. One a month?

      • October 3, 2012 3:47 pm

        One a month, to me, sounds heavenly. It looks like I’ve average about 1 every month-and-a-halfish, so actually I figure that’s not bad. But in the bad old days I was doing about one every fourish months, simply for lack of time… So I’m happy. But yes, tearing through 4 in 2 weeks is pretty intense, and I can see how you wouldn’t have time for writing with that much reading.

        > Date: Wed, 3 Oct 2012 19:43:00 +0000 > To: karro_clawson@hotmail.com >

  2. October 4, 2012 1:41 am

    It;s sort of too bad I’m not in the middle of a story right now, since my internet was down for a few days. I would have had a lot of writing time. :-) I’m still making notes (i.e., writing scenes) for an upcoming project, but I’m still concerned it’s trying to do too many things at once.

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Progress: Week Ending October 6, 2012 « The Undiscovered Author
  2. Writing Progress: Week Ending October 13, 2012 « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

