Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending August 4, 2012

August 6, 2012

So the Olympics are a thing that happens:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 467 words

Grand Total: 467 words

Dear Wife and I largely took the week off from most big “Home Project Phase III” stuff to be done.  That doesn’t mean we’re done  – not by a long shot – but enough of the heavy-lifting has been done that we could afford to relax a little.  We’ll likely re-approach the Home Project with renewed vigor this week and next.

So, you’d think that means I had time to write.  On a technical level, you’d be right.

But instead, the Olympics happened (and are still happening).  And it’s hard to cheer on my national team in whatever event NBC deigns to air at the same time as I’m trying to immerse myself in the sometimes dark, sometimes magical post-apocalyptic world of “The Book of M”.  More often than not last week the former happened rather than the latter.  And what I did write is of questionable quality.

And since the Olympics are a two-week event, and since I’m anticipating getting a lot more done on the Home Project his week, I expect writing productivity will not recover this week.   When free time comes, if I’m not working on the Home Project, I expect I’ll be rooting for my team, instead.

How was your week?  Get any writing done?  Watched the Olympics instead?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 7:39 pm

    Oh good, I’m not the only one with that excuse! I love watching the olympics, and its rather odd to find that I want to watch sports at all. I wrote about 1500 words, but they haven’t been coming fast nor easily.

    • August 7, 2012 7:57 am

      The same is true for me… I don’t really watch sports but I find I feel differently about the Olympics. So, I figure it’s a perfectly valid excuse. For a couple weeks anyway.

  2. August 7, 2012 4:57 am

    Olympics, yes, glued to it! As a brit I’m quite proud of the way its all going so far…

    • August 7, 2012 7:56 am

      :-) As an American I think you all have a lot to be proud of. Watching the games has certainly elevated London and Great Britain on my bucket list of places to visit.

  3. August 7, 2012 2:13 pm

    I haven’t watched any of the Olympics, and I haven’t written much either. :-)

    The only time I followed the Olympics at all seriously was when I was married, and then it was mostly the equestrian events. My ex rode (hunters and jumpers) and we always went to the National Horse Show (as much as we could afford or get parents to pay for), so we had some idea who the top riders were (and opinions about them). That makes it a lot more interesting.

    I’m working on a few different things. Marking edits to one of the stories in my mystery book. Considering a new mystery story. Considering a new longer story, sort of a sequel to Stevie One. I have the first scene of that one written, but I have to figure out if I can get there or not.

    It starts, “It was a dark and stormy night.” :-)

  4. August 8, 2012 10:50 pm

    I have to hide from the TV during the Olympics, or so very, very little gets done. X)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 718 other followers

