Skip to content

July 26, 2012

Stephen A. Watkins:

John Scalzi’s thoughts on Geekdom are wise and true. There’s really nothing I can say or add to it, but I wanted to share it.

Originally posted on Whatever:

The other day CNN let some dude named Joe Peacockvomit up an embarrassing piece on its Web site, about how how awful it is that geekdom is in the process of being overrun by attractive women dressing up in costumes (“cosplaying,” for the uninitiated) when they haven’t displayed their geek cred to Mr. Peacock’s personal satisfaction. They weren’t real geeks, Mr. Peacock maintains — he makes a great show of supporting real geek women, the definition of which, presumably, are those who have passed his stringent entrance requirements, which I am sure he’s posted some place other than the inside of his skull — and because they’re not real geeks, they offend people like him, who are real geeks:

They’re poachers. They’re a pox on our culture. As a guy, I find it repugnant that, due to my interests in comic books, sci-fi, fantasy and role playing games…

View original 1,445 more words

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 5:21 pm

    And here I’ve been thinking that I wasn’t geeky enough. Thanks, John via Stephen, for making me feel otherwise. ^-^

    • July 26, 2012 7:24 pm

      Ditto. I’ve actually felt pretty insecure about going to con’s because I’ve felt like I wouldn’t fit in, even though I love what’s involved… ;)

      • July 27, 2012 11:08 am

        I feel somewhat the same way, in part because I think the Con scene has, in a way, developed it’s own culture and, especially for an introvert, entering into that can be very intimidating. I’m sure it’s different, of course – different people and different circumstances, etc. – but the idea that it’s intimidating, I don’t think you’re alone in that.

    • July 27, 2012 11:07 am

      Well, like he said, there’s no hieararchy of geeky. There’s no such thing as “not geeky enough” or even of “too geeky”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

