Skip to content

Friday Links to Chew On

June 8, 2012

So I had a couple links I wanted to pass on before they grew stale.  But they didn’t fit the theme of the occassional series I do on “Tidbits of Inspiration”.  And then I remembered I’d done a pretty large link-dump recently, and I realized that I had a good name for an occassional series of posts in which I dump links on your poor, unsuspecting readers.  And so, I give you a small helping of “Links to Chew On”:

  • Author Myke Cole shares some of the rules of writing that he’s learned: He’s got 18 rules in all, and covers writing habits, style, genre, promotions and publishing.  The rules are pretty amusing, and you should check them out.  I’d say they’re a pretty complete set of rules, and if you’re a writer you’d do well to consider them.
  • Author Brandon Sanderson is Self-Publishing: And… it looks like big news, sure.  A major epic fantasy best-seller, the author who is finishing acclaimed author Robert Jordan’s magnum opus, is eschewing traditional publishing for self-publishing!  The End Is Nigh!  Except, well, not really.  When you actually read the news, you’ll find that it’s not quite that earth-shattering.  All Sanderson is doing is taking a couple novela-length stories he’s written and published elsewhere and binding them up in a single volume.  And after reflecting on it, I recalled that a lot of traditionally-published authors (though few as big-named as Sanderson) have been doing similar experiments.  Still, it is worthy of note because Sanderson is such a big name.
  • Pre-reject your own work: It saves time and heartbreak.  And it’s fun!
  • Respect Your Fans: An interesting article that makes what I think is an important point: if you want loyal readers, then you need to respect your fans.  The article explores some of the history of Sci-Fi and Fantasy fandom and how connected and engaged those fans are – and how that connection and engagement feeds back into the development of the genre.  There are some interesting counterpoints to this idea that aren’t fully explored in the article but discussed somewhat in the comments, too.  Anyway, worth the read.
  • Speaking of Fans… Here’s a pair of articles about setting up and using a facebook fan page.  I, myself, do not have one, and I won’t bother with one until I have published some fiction in a professional market or instead decided to self-publish and thereafter earned more than the sales I could count on two hands.  But hey… if you’re already down those rabbit holes, maybe you could use a fan page?

Anyway, there are some links for you this Friday…  Have fun!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 11:13 am

    The rules Mike Cole lists are spot on. After reading them, I felt all was right in the world. ;)

    • June 8, 2012 11:29 am

      Aren’t they, though? I feel like there’s a pretty deep bench of wisdom in those rules, and I wish someone had distilled them down so simply before now… ;)

  2. June 8, 2012 6:18 pm

    Myke Cole’s list is pretty amusing, lol. I’ll have to look at the other ones, too, when I get the chance.

    Thanks for sharing. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

